253.D99 Kunstraum Superstadt
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019W, UE, 8.0h, 10.0EC
This course is evaluated following the new mode. Learn more

Course evaluation

Properties

  • Semester hours: 8.0
  • Credits: 10.0
  • Type: UE Exercise

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to work on complex design tasks in the field of architecture and urban planning independently, systematically and with an original, contemporary design approach based on a precise architectural language. They have the competence to recognise fields of action in an urban context and to develop appropriate urban planning solutions. Students will be able to conduct their own research and to establish topic-related fundamentals. They will be able to create design concepts and present them comprehensively in the form of draft and detailed plans.

Subject of course

Einführung: Fr. 4.10.2019, 9.00h, Raumlabor  

In its development from an infrastructure hub to a place of new urbanity Vienna International Airport is now in the process of programmatically differentiating itself. After hotels, office and congress spaces and, most recently, a health centre, the next cultural issue to come to the fore is the construction programme of the airport landside. How can public spaces be created that are shaped by cultural uses and thus create urbanity?

The prototype of this development is the Kunstraum Superstadt(super city art space). As a bridge between the terminals and the office city, the Kunstraumcreates a space that provokes and allows visitors to stay and meet beyond the airport’s typical wait. Based on examples of Austrian architecture since the beginning of modernism, we ask ourselves how a contemporary exhibition space in the Airport City must be designed.

The space is simultaneously a place of encounter and of interdisciplinary debate. 

Exhibition spaces are places of discourse and education. Exhibitions have the task of being a public forum for relevant topics and of relating their visitors to narratives that they digest and show. In museums and archives, on the other hand, the focus is on collecting, preserving and researching artefacts. An exhibition space at the airport is not a museum, but it can establish significant relationships with the collections and archives of the Vienna museum landscape. In return, it places the issue of exhibiting as a spatio-temporal event at the centre of its identity. 

Based on a specific Austrian genealogy of the exhibition as an event since early modernism, the exhibition becomes not only a display but also an exhibit on the topic: in 1925, Friedrich Kiesler develops an exhibition system for the Austrian theatre section of the Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernesin Paris, consisting of his layering and carrier system, which as a “City in Space” is simultaneously an expression of an ideal city model. In the 1960s Walter Pichler and Hans Hollein, Haus Rucker Co. and others update the idea of the ideal city as an exhibition. 

Super City

Today, Airport City Vienna is an attractive office city at Schwechat Airport with the claim to be an autonomous city. Airport City is located in the centre of the dynamic business location of Vienna International Airport. It is closely linked to the airport and the future high-speed road and rail networks. The infrastructure hub, the immediate proximity to the Danube and the connection to the new Silk Road form the general conditions for this location.

The super city research project was set in the future, in the year 2068.

The super city is concentrated in the area of the Airport City Vienna on an area with a diameter of 400m. 100,000 people will live and work here. The super city is a high-density location that provokes new forms of coexistence. Architecture is becoming the decisive medium. It frees the city island from its monofunctional origins in order to become a place of cultural density and diversity, a centre of life and work, science and art. The surrounding landscape separates the super city from historic Vienna and acts as a complementary landscape of the high-density city island.

Exhibit and Display

Architecture can be exhibited and it itself can exhibit something. The difference between its function as an exhibit and its function as a display is expressed in this dual function. In a collection presentation (such as in the Vienna Architecture Centre), these two functions can enter into a relationship: a contemporary space display is produced to show historic architecture. In contrast, no historic exhibits are shown in the Kunstraum Superstadt. This is not about exhibiting archives and collections and developing a specific display for them. In the Kunstraum Superstadt, on the contrary, the task is to design an exhibition space that emanates from the specific context of the Airport City and addresses the issue of exhibiting at this location.

The Integrative Design course combines the content of the bachelor‘s course and the competences acquired in the studios into complex architectural tasks. The students acquire the ability to understand architecture as a process in which the prerequisites and goals of a design task are worked on in terms of urban planning and architecture. A draft is developed on the basis of social, spatial, constructive and technical requirements. On the basis of a coherent conclusive concept, the design is worked through in the form of draft and detailed plans and is presented in the form of plans and models.

Teaching methods

Based on the analysis of selected examples of exhibition spaces and spatial concepts, you will develop a concept for spatial models of exhibiting.

As a team, you will develop an urban planning concept that creates a spatial link between the city and the terminals.

In individual work you define an exhibition and cultural space.

You will develop a selected spatial area down to the last detail on the basis of analogue models and drawings. 

The design work is divided into sections and goes through all scales. 

The project is developed on the basis of physical models.

You will also be supported with presentations and layouts in the Graphic Design course.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

Introduction:Fri. 4.10.2019, 9.00h, Raumlabor                 

Workshop: Mo. 14.-17.10.2019, 10-17.00h Gr. Prechtlsaal:     

Symposium Kunstraum Superstadt: Mi. 16.10.2019, 10-20.00h Gr. Prechtlsaal:      

Presentation. Mi. 13.11.2019, 9.00h      Sem4  

Design concept: Mi. 11.12. 2019, 9.00h   Gr. Prechtlsaal

Final presentation: Mi. 22.1. 2019, 9.00h          Sem4  

Deadline: Mi. 29.1. 2019, 9.00h, Raumlabor  

Exhibition and presentation: Mi. 11.3. 2019, 17.00h 

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

Design Project shown in drawings and models

Exams

DayTimeDateRoomMode of examinationApplication timeApplication modeExam
Fri - 31.01.2020assessedno application-Endbenotung

Application

TitleApplication beginApplication end
Bachelor Entwerfen WS1916.09.2019 09:0030.09.2019 23:59

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
033 243 Architecture 6. SemesterSTEOP
Course requires the completion of the introductory and orientation phase

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Preceding courses

Accompanying courses

Continuative courses

Miscellaneous

Language

if required in English

253.D99 Entwerfen (Bachelor) Kunstraum Superstadt
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019W, UE, 8.0h, 10.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 8.0
  • ECTS: 10.0
  • Typ: UE Übung

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage,  komplexe Entwurfsaufgaben aus dem Fachgebiet der Architektur und des Städtebaus eigenständig, systematisch und mit einem originären, zeitgemäßen Entwurfsansatz auf der Grundlage einer präzisen architektonischen Sprache zu bearbeiten. Sie haben die Kompetenz, Handlungsfelder im urbanen Kontext zu erkennen und entsprechende städtebauliche Lösungsansätze zu entwickeln. Die Studierenden können eigenverantwortliche Recherchen und themenbezogene Grundlagen erheben. Sie sind in der Lage, Entwurfskonzepte zu erstellen und diese in Form von Entwurfs- und Detailplänen umfassend darzustellen und zu präsentieren.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Kunstraum Superstadt

Einführung: Fr. 4.10.2019, 9.00h, Raumlabor  

In der Entwicklung vom Infrastrukturknoten zu einem Ort neuer Urbanität ist der Flughafen Wien heute dabei, sich programmatisch zu differenzieren. Nach Hotels, Büro- und Kongressflächen sowie zuletzt einem Gesundheitszentrum rücken im Bauprogramm der Flughafen-Landside als nächstes kulturelle Fragen in das Blickfeld. Wie können öffentliche Räume entstehen, die durch kulturelle Nutzungen geprägt werden und dadurch Urbanität erzeugen?

Prototyp dieser Entwicklung ist der Kunstraum Superstadt. Als Brücke zwischen den Terminals und der Bürostadt stellt der Kunstraum einen Raum her, der Aufenthalt und Versammlung jenseits des Flughafen-typischen Wartens provoziert und gewährt. Ausgehend von Beispielen der österreichischen Architektur seit dem Beginn der Moderne stellen wir uns der Frage, wie ein zeitgenössischer Ausstellungsraum in der Airport City beschaffen sein muss.

Der Raum ist zugleich ein Ort der Begegnung und der interdisziplinären Auseinandersetzung. 

Ausstellungsräume sind Orte des Diskurses und der Vermittlung. Ausstellungen haben die Aufgabe, ein öffentliches Forum relevanter Themen zu sein und ihre Besucher mit Narrativen in Beziehung dazu zu bringen, die diese verarbeiten und zeigen. In Museen und Archiven hingegen steht das Sammeln, Bewahren und Beforschen von Artefakten im Vordergrund. Ein Ausstellungsraum am Flughafen ist kein Museum, aber er kann mit den Sammlungen und Archiven der Wiener Museumslandschaft bedeutsame Beziehungen herstellen. Dafür stellt er das Thema des Ausstellens als raum-zeitliches Ereignis in den Mittelpunkt seiner Identität. 

Ausgehend von einer spezifisch-österreichischen Genealogie der Ausstellung als Ereignis seit der frühen Moderne wird die Ausstellung nicht allein als Display, sondern zugleich als Exponat zum Thema: Friedrich Kiesler entwickelt 1925 für die Österreichische Theatersektion der Pariser ‚Exposition Internationale des Arts Décoratifs et Industriels Modernes‘ ein Ausstellungssystem aus seinem Leger- und Trägersystem, das als ‚Raumstadt‘ zugleich Ausdruck eines idealen Stadtmodells ist. Walter Pichler und Hans Hollein, Haus Rucker Co. und andere aktualisieren die Idee der Idealstadt als Ausstellung in den 1960er Jahren. 

Superstadt

Die Airport City Vienna ist heute eine attraktive Bürostadt am Flughafen Schwechat mit dem Anspruch einer autonomen Stadt. Die Airport City liegt im Zentrum des dynamischen Wirtschaftsstandorts Vienna International Airport. Dieser ist eng mit dem Flughafen sowie den zukünftigen Hochgeschwindigkeitsnetzen von Schiene und Straße verknüpft. Der Infrastrukturknoten, die unmittelbare Nähe zur Donau und die Anbindung an die neue Seidenstraße bilden die Rahmenbedingungen für diesen Standort.

Das Forschungsprojekt Superstadt wurde in der Zukunft, im Jahr 2068 angesiedelt.

Die Superstadt verdichtet sich auf dem Gebiet der Airport City Vienna auf einer Fläche mit einem Durchmesser von 400m. Hier werden 100.000 Menschen leben und arbeiten. Die Superstadt ist ein Ort extremer Dichte, die neue Formen des Zusammenlebens provoziert. Architektur wird dabei zum entscheidenden Medium. Durch sie wird die Stadtinsel von ihrer monofunktionalen Herkunft befreit, um ein Ort kultureller Dichte und Vielfalt, ein Zentrum von Leben und Arbeiten, Wissenschaft und Kunst zu werden. Die Landschaft der Umgebung trennt die Superstadt vom historischen Wien und wirkt als landschaftlicher Komplementärraum der hochverdichteten Stadtinsel.

Exponat und Display

Architektur kann ausgestellt werden und sie kann selbst etwas ausstellen. Der Unterschied zwischen ihrer Funktion als Exponat und ihrer Funktion als Display kommt in dieser Doppelrolle zum Ausdruck. In einer Sammlungspräsentation (wie zum Beispiel im Architekturzentrum Wien) können diese beiden Funktionen eine Beziehung eingehen: ein heutiges Raum-Display wird für das Zeigen historischer Architekturen produziert. Im Kunstraum Superstadt werden im Gegensatz dazu keine historischen Exponate gezeigt. Hier geht es nicht darum, Archive und Sammlungen auszustellen und ein spezifisches Display dafür zu entwickeln. Im Kunstraum Superstadt ist es im Gegenteil die Aufgabe, einen Ausstellungsraum zu entwerfen, der vom spezifischen Kontext der Airport City ausgeht und das Thema des Ausstellens an diesem Ort thematisiert.

Methoden

Ausgehend von der Analyse ausgewählter Beispiele von Ausstellungsräumen und Raumkonzepten entwickeln Sie ein Konzept für Raummodelle des Ausstellens. 
Im Team entwickeln Sie ein städtebauliches Konzept, das eine räumliche Verbindung zwischen der Stadt und den Terminals herstellt.
In Einzelarbeit definieren Sie einen Ausstellungs- und Kulturraum.
Begleitend werden Sie in der Lehrveranstaltung Grafik Design bei Darstellungen und Layouts unterstützt.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Einführung: Fr. 4.10.2019, 9.00h, Raumlabor             

Workshop: Mo. 14.-17.10.2019, 10-17.00h Gr. Prechtlsaal  

Symposium Kunstraum Superstadt: Mi. 16.10.2019, 10-20.00h Gr. Prechtlsaal  

Konzeptpräsentation<<<<<. Mi. 13.11.2019, 9.00h  Sem4  

Entwurfspräsentation: Mi. 11.12. 2019, 9.00h   Gr. Prechtlsaal

Letzte Präsentation: Mi. 22.1. 2019, 9.00h Sem4  

Abgabe Entwerfen: Mi. 29.1. 2019, 9.00h, Raumlabor  

Ausstellung und Präsentation: Mi. 11.3. 2019, 17.00h 

Vortragende

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Entwurfsprojekt dargestellt in Plänen und Modellen

Prüfungen

TagZeitDatumOrtPrüfungsmodusAnmeldefristAnmeldungPrüfung
Fr. - 31.01.2020beurteiltKeine Anmeldung-Endbenotung

Bewerbung

TitelBewerbungsbeginnBewerbungsende
Bachelor Entwerfen WS1916.09.2019 09:0030.09.2019 23:59

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
033 243 Architektur 6. SemesterSTEOP
Lehrveranstaltung erfordert die Erfüllung der Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase STEOP

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorausgehende Lehrveranstaltungen

Begleitende Lehrveranstaltungen

Vertiefende Lehrveranstaltungen

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

bei Bedarf in Englisch