Because of an network error, the TISS - Hotline is not reachable. We are working to fix this. Thanks for your understanding!

387.043 Modern solid-state lasers
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019W, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC, to be held in blocked form

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VO Lecture

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to orient themselves in the growing field of industrial and research-oriented solid-state lasers, understand their future prospects and principal limitations, and have and overview of their current and evolving applications.

Even those future electrical engineers, who will not work at the commpany which produce lasers, will likely be confronted with the use of lasers in the manufacturing or incorporation of lasers in the end product. Thus, they should be able to critically evaluate the project and suggest the correct laser technology and suppllier, analyse the offers and control the ordering procedure, present and professionally discuss the chosen solutions with colleagues and customers.  

Subject of course

Solid-state lasers are broadly used nowadays in telecommunications, industry, medicine and science. Long-distance communication or modern car plants are now unthinkable without solid-state lasers. They operate in many important spectral regions and offer stability, efficiency and compactness. Most importantly, they provide the highest power, best beam quality, the broadest tuning range, the highest pulse energy, and the shortest pulses, which are generally inaccessible for other types of lasers. Some most recent advances like femtochemistry or attophysics have only become possible owing to the solid-state lasers. The lecture course starts with the introduction of principles of laser action as well as the optical and electronic properties of laser materials, using mainly the semi-classical approach. After a brief review of design principles and operation regimes, the connection between the material parameters and laser properties is explained in detail. We consider all modern solid-state lasers, starting from broadband lasers suitable for ultrashortpulse generation till fixed-wavelength high-power kW-class lasers, especially fiber lasers. Finally we make a market overview and discuss some applications of lasers and advanced laser technologies in industry and science.

Teaching methods

The main part of the course is the block lecture. The lecture notes and the corresponding book chapters will be made available. Three to four home assignments have the purpose to teach the main principles and methods.

Mode of examination

Oral

Additional information

The lecture schedule is quite flexible and we shall adjust it at the fisrt meeting (Vorbesprechung).

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Wed15:00 - 16:0016.10.2019Seminarraum 387 Vorbesprechung
Thu14:00 - 16:0017.10.2019 - 30.01.2020Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed14:00 - 16:0023.10.2019 - 29.01.2020Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Modern solid-state lasers - Single appointments
DayDateTimeLocationDescription
Wed16.10.201915:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorbesprechung
Thu17.10.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed23.10.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu24.10.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed06.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu07.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed13.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu14.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed20.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu21.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed27.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu28.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed04.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu05.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed11.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu12.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed18.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed08.01.202014:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Thu09.01.202014:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Wed15.01.202014:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Course is held blocked

Examination modalities

The final result will include home assignments and the Examination note. The oral examination (use of the lecture notes, books, and Internet is allowed and even desirable!) has a form a Colloquium where a student shoud suggest a laser type for a certain purpose, analyse it, and defend the choice in front of the colleagues.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
02.10.2019 11:00 01.11.2019 12:00

Curricula

Literature

Lecture notes for this course are available.

Previous knowledge

Electrical Engineering students should first take "Photonik 1" or equivalent. Physics students are expected to have knowledge of optics and atomic physics.

Language

if required in English

387.043 Moderne Festkörperlaser
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019W, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC, wird geblockt abgehalten

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, sich in einem stetig wachsendem Umfeld von industriellen und wissenschaftlichen Laser zu orientieren, deren Prospekte sowie grundsätzliche Limitationen zu verstehen, und sich die bereits bestehende sowie kommende Einsatzgebiete vorzustellen. 

Auch wenn die zukünftige Elektrotechniker ihren Job nicht bei einer Laserfirma finden, sie werden  wahrscheinlich mit einer Verwedug von Laser in der Fertigung oder deren Einbau in ein Produkt konfrontiert. Sie sollen daher in der Lage sein, einen Projekt kritisch zu evaluieren und die richtige Laserarchitektur sowie Lieferanten vorzuschlagen, die Angebote zu analysieren und Bestellprozess zu begleitenn, sowie siene Entscheidungen dei den Kollegen und Kunden zu präsentieren und professionell zu diskutieren.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Festkörperläser finden heutzutage breite Anwendung in der Nachrichtentechnik, Industrie, Medizin und Wissenschaft. Langstrekenkommunikation oder moderne Autowerke sind heute ohne Festkörperlaser undenkbar. Sie operieren in vielen wichtigen Spektralbereichen und sind stabil, effizient und kompakt. Vor allem liefern Festkörperlaser die höchste Leistung, beste Strahlqualität, breiteste Durchstimmung, höchste Impulsenergie, sowie kürzeste Impulsdauer, die für andere Lasertypen prinzipell nicht erreichbar sind. Einige neueste Gebiete, wie Femtochemie oder Attophysik wurden erst durch diese einzigartige Eigenschaften von Festkörperlaser möglich. Die Vorlesung beginnt mit Darstellung von Grundlagen und Funktionsweise moderner Festkörperlaser, der optischen und elektronischen Eigenschaften von Lasermedien auf Basis von semi-klassischen Beschreibung. Nach der Einleitung in das Design und Funktionsregimes wird eine Verbindung zwischen Materiellen- und Laserparametern in detailierter Weise gezogen. Weiters gehen wir durch alle modernen Festkörperlasertypen, von breitbandigen Lasern für Ultrakurzimpulserzeugung bis schmalbandigen Hochleistungslasern, und speziell Faserlaser. Abschliessend macen wir eine Marktübersicht und diskutieren über einige Beispiele der Anwendung von Festkörperlasern und fortgeschrittenen Lasertechnologien in Industrie und Wissenschaft.

Methoden

In diesem Kurs setzen wir primär auf eine Blockvorlesung. Das Skriptum und die einschlägigen Buchkapiteln werden bereitgestellt.  Drei bis vier Hausaufgaben dienen dazu, die wichtigen Grundlagen und Analysemethoden einzuprägen.  

Prüfungsmodus

Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Die genauen Vorlesungstermine sind ziemlich flexibel unnd werden bei der Vorbesprechung vereinbart.

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mi.15:00 - 16:0016.10.2019Seminarraum 387 Vorbesprechung
Do.14:00 - 16:0017.10.2019 - 30.01.2020Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.14:00 - 16:0023.10.2019 - 29.01.2020Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.14:00 - 16:0028.11.2019EI 5 Hochenegg HS Vorlesung
Moderne Festkörperlaser - Einzeltermine
TagDatumZeitOrtBeschreibung
Mi.16.10.201915:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorbesprechung
Do.17.10.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.23.10.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.24.10.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.06.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.07.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.13.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.14.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.20.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.21.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.27.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.28.11.201914:00 - 16:00EI 5 Hochenegg HS Vorlesung
Do.28.11.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.04.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.05.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.11.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.12.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.18.12.201914:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.08.01.202014:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Do.09.01.202014:00 - 16:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
LVA wird geblockt abgehalten

Leistungsnachweis

Die Endnote wird aus Hausaufgabenergebnissen und einer Prüfungsnote zusammengestellt. Die mündliche Endprüfung (Verwendung von Skriptum, Büchern und Internet sind erlaubt und sogar erwünscht!) erfolgt in form eines Kolloquiums, wo jeder soll einen Lasertyp zu einem bestimmten Zweck vorschlagen, analysieren und vor den Kollegen verteidigen.     

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
02.10.2019 11:00 01.11.2019 12:00

Curricula

Literatur

Ein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung ist erhältlich.

Vorkenntnisse

Die ET-Studenten sollen diesen Kurs erst nach "Photonik 1" nehmen. Für die Physik-Studenten werden Kenntisse von Optik und Atomphysik vorausgesetzt.

Sprache

bei Bedarf in Englisch