376.058 Optimization
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2020W, VU, 3.0h, 4.5EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 3.0
  • Credits: 4.5
  • Type: VU Lecture and Exercise
  • Format: Hybrid

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to identify, understand, analyze, formulate and graphically or mathematically solve basic static and dynamic optimization problems. They especially know about the theory, the mathematically principles and various methods for an exact or iterative solution of optimization problems. After successful completion of this course, students can moreover differentiate between unconstrained and constrained optimization problems and they can select and apply the specifically appropriate solution methods. This course strengthens and deepens engineering approaches, abstract and analytical thinking, independent solution of practical optimization problems, as well as mathematical skills.

Subject of course

Fundamentals of optimization:
existence of minima and maxima, gradient, Hessian, convexity, convergence

Unconstrained static optimization:
optimality conditions, computer-aided optimization, line search methods, choice of the step length, principle of nested intervals, Armijo condition, Wolfe condition, gradient method, Newton method, conjugate gradient method, Quasi-Newton method, Gauss-Newton-method, trust region method, Nelder-Mead method

Static optimization with constraints:
equality and inequality constraints, sensitivity considerations, active set method, gradient projection method, reduced gradient method, penalty and barrier functions, sequential quadratic programming (SQP), local SQP, globalization of SQP

Dynamic optimization:
basics of the calculus of variations, optimality conditions, Euler-Lagrange equations, Weierstrass-Erdmann conditions, design of optimal control solutions, minimum principle of Pontryagin,  energy-optimal, ressource-optimal, time-optimal, Bang-Bang control, singular arcs

Teaching methods

The contents of this lecture are elaborated and discussed based on lecture notes and exercise notes (both documents freely available). The material is presented on the blackboard and with slides. To deepen, reinforce, and practically apply the material, example problems are discussed and mathematically solved. The software Matlab is used for computer-aided solution of optimization problems. In some cases, the developed solutions are practically implemented and tested on laboratory experiments.

Mode of examination

Oral

Additional information

Current information on the teaching mode in the winter semester 2020/2021

Most parts of this course are held as distance learning events. Links to ZOOM online-meetings of this course are available in the associated TUWEL course. A course registration is required to access the TUWEL course.

  • Lecture: All lectures are exclusively held as online meetings via ZOOM at the times given in Course dates. The first lecture (including a preview on the organization of the course) starts on 6.10.2020 at 8:00.

  • Exercise: Each exercise consists of two events. Their times are given in Course dates. Both events should be attended. For the exercises 1 and 2, both events are exclusively held as online meetings via ZOOM. For the exercises 3 and 4 the respective first event is exclusively held as online meeting via ZOOM and the respective second event is exclusively held as presence teaching event in the computer lab of the institute ACIN (room CA0426).

    All contents of the exercises are part of the final exam. The goal of the exercises is to apply the theoretical concepts and algorithms presented in the lecture to specific examples in the field of static and dynamic optimization. The focus lies on the use of numeric software (mainly Matlab).

 

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Tue08:00 - 10:0006.10.2020 - 26.01.2021 OnlineLecture
Tue10:15 - 11:1510.11.2020 OnlineExercise 1: Discussion and questions related to the exercise
Wed13:15 - 14:1511.11.2020 OnlineExercise 1: Discussion of results
Tue10:15 - 11:1501.12.2020 OnlineExercise 2: Discussion and questions related to the exercise
Wed13:15 - 14:1502.12.2020 OnlineExercise 2: Discussion of the results
Tue10:15 - 11:1512.01.2021 OnlineExercise 3: Discussion and questions related to the exercise
Wed13:15 - 15:1513.01.2021 Computer lab of the institute (CA0426)Exercise 3 in computer lab
Tue10:15 - 11:1526.01.2021 OnlineExercise 4: Discussion and questions related to the exercise
Wed13:15 - 15:1527.01.2021 Computer lab of the institute (CA0426)Exercise 4 in computer lab
Optimization - Single appointments
DayDateTimeLocationDescription
Tue06.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue13.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue20.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue27.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue03.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue10.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue10.11.202010:15 - 11:15 OnlineExercise 1: Discussion and questions related to the exercise
Wed11.11.202013:15 - 14:15 OnlineExercise 1: Discussion of results
Tue17.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue24.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue01.12.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue01.12.202010:15 - 11:15 OnlineExercise 2: Discussion and questions related to the exercise
Wed02.12.202013:15 - 14:15 OnlineExercise 2: Discussion of the results
Tue15.12.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue12.01.202108:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue12.01.202110:15 - 11:15 OnlineExercise 3: Discussion and questions related to the exercise
Wed13.01.202113:15 - 15:15 Computer lab of the institute (CA0426)Exercise 3 in computer lab
Tue19.01.202108:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue26.01.202108:00 - 10:00 OnlineLecture
Tue26.01.202110:15 - 11:15 OnlineExercise 4: Discussion and questions related to the exercise

Examination modalities

The performance is evaluated in an oral exam, which can take place at any time Monday to Friday from 6:00 to 20:00. To arrange a time for the examination, send an e-mail with desired dates, times or time slots, your name, student ID number, and study code to steinboeck@acin.tuwien.ac.at.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
01.10.2020 00:00 31.01.2021 00:00

Curricula

Literature

Lecture Notes (in German) can be downloaded here.

Preceding courses

Continuative courses

Miscellaneous

Language

German

376.058 Optimierung
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2020W, VU, 3.0h, 4.5EC
TUWEL

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 3.0
  • ECTS: 4.5
  • Typ: VU Vorlesung mit Übung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Hybrid

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage grundlegende Aufgaben aus der statischen und dynamischen Optimierung zu erkennen, zu verstehen, zu analysieren, zu formulieren und graphisch oder mathematisch zu lösen. Insbesondere beherrschen sie die Theorie, die mathematischen Prinzipien und vielfältige Methoden zur exakten oder iterativen Lösung von Optimierungsproblemen. Nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung dieser Lehrveranstaltung können Studierende ferner zwischen unbeschränkten und beschränkten Optimierungsproblemen unterscheiden und die dafür jeweils passenden Lösungsmethoden auswählen und anwenden. Die Lehrveranstaltung fördert und vertieft ingenieurmäßiges Vorgehen, abstraktes und analytisches Denken, selbstständiges Lösen von praktischen Optimierungsaufgaben sowie mathematische Fähigkeiten.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Grundlagen der Optimierung:
Existenz von Minima und Maxima, Gradient, Hessematrix, Konvexität, Konvergenz

Unbeschränkte statische Optimierung:
Optimalitätsbedingungen, rechnergestützte Optimierungsverfahren, Liniensuchverfahren, Wahl der Schrittweite, Intervallschachtelung, Armijo Bedingung, Wolfe Bedingung, Gradientenmethode, Newton-Verfahren, konjugierte Gradientenmethode, Quasi-Newton-Methode, Gauss-Newton-Methode, Methode der Vertrauensbereiche, Nelder-Mead Verfahren

Statische Optimierung mit Beschränkungen:
Gleichungs- und Ungleichungsbeschränkungen, Sensitivitätsbetrachtung, Methode der aktiven Beschränkungen, Gradienten Projektionsmethode, Reduzierte Gradientenmethode, Straf- und Barrierefunktionen, Sequentielle Quadratische Programmierung (SQP), lokale SQP, Globalisierung der SQP

Dynamische Optimierung:
Grundlagen der Variationsrechnung, Optimalitätsbedingungen, Euler-Lagrange Gleichungen, Weierstrass-Erdmann Bedingungen, Entwurf von Optimalsteuerungen, Minimumsprinzip von Pontryagin, energieoptimal, verbrauchsoptimal, zeitoptimal, Bang-Bang Steuerung, singuläre Pfade

 

Methoden

Die Lehrinhalte werden basierend auf einem Vorlesungsskriptum und einem Übungsskriptum (beide Dokumente frei verfügbar) erarbeitet und diskutiert. Die Inhalte werden in Form eines Tafel- und Folienvortrages vermittelt. Eine Vertiefung, Festigung und praktische Anwendung der Lehrinhalte erfolgt durch Diskutieren und rechnerisches Lösen von Beispielproblemen. Zur computergestützten Lösung von Optimierungsproblemen wird die Software Matlab verwendet. Zum Teil werden die erarbeiteten Lösungen an Laborexperimenten praktisch umgesetzt und getestet.

Prüfungsmodus

Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Aktuelle Informationen zum Abhaltemodus im Wintersemester 2020/2021

Diese LVA wird zum Großteil in Form von Distanzlehre abgehalten. Zugangslinks zu ZOOM Online-Meetings dieser LVA sind im zugehörigen TUWEL-Kurs abrufbar. Eine Anmeldung zur LVA ist für den Zugang zum TUWEL-Kurs notwendig.

  • Vorlesung: Alle Vorlesungseinheiten finden zu den unter LVA Termine angegebenen Zeiten ausschließlich als Online-Meetings mittels ZOOM statt. Die erste Vorlesung (inkl. Vorbesprechung zur Organisation der LVA) beginnt am 6.10.2020 um 8:00 Uhr.

  • Übung: Jede Übung besteht aus zwei Terminen, welche unter LVA Termine angegeben sind. Beide Termine sind wahrzunehmen! Bei den Übungen 1 und 2 finden alle Termine ausschließlich als Online-Meetings mittels ZOOM statt. Bei den Übungen 3 und 4 findet jeweils der erste Termin ausschließlich als Online-Meeting mittels ZOOM statt und jeweils der zweite Termin ausschließlich als Präsenzlehrveranstaltung im Computerlabor des Instituts ACIN (Raum CA0426).

    Alle Übungsinhalte sind Teil des Prüfungsstoffes. Ziel ist es, die in der Vorlesung vorgestellten theoretischen Grundlagen und Algorithmen auf einem Rechner an Beispielen der statischen und dynamischen Optimierung anzuwenden. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Verwendung von Numerikprogrammen (vorwiegend Matlab).

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Di.08:00 - 10:0006.10.2020 - 26.01.2021 Online (LIVE)Vorlesung
Di.10:15 - 11:1510.11.2020 Online (LIVE)Übung 1: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung
Mi.13:15 - 14:1511.11.2020 Online (LIVE)Übung 1: Besprechung der Ergebnisse
Mi.13:15 - 14:1509.12.2020 Online (LIVE)Übung 2: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung
Do.13:15 - 14:1510.12.2020 Online (LIVE)Übung 2: Besprechung der Ergebnisse
Di.10:15 - 11:1512.01.2021 Online (LIVE)Übung 3: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung
Mi.13:15 - 15:1513.01.2021 Computerlabor des Instituts (CA0426)Übung 3: Übungseinheit
Di.10:15 - 11:1526.01.2021 Online (LIVE)Übung 4: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung
Mi.13:15 - 15:1527.01.2021 Computerlabor des Instituts (CA0426)Übung 4: Übungseinheit
Optimierung - Einzeltermine
TagDatumZeitOrtBeschreibung
Di.06.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.13.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.20.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.27.10.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.03.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.10.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.10.11.202010:15 - 11:15 OnlineÜbung 1: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung
Mi.11.11.202013:15 - 14:15 OnlineÜbung 1: Besprechung der Ergebnisse
Di.17.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.24.11.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.01.12.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Mi.09.12.202013:15 - 14:15 OnlineÜbung 2: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung
Do.10.12.202013:15 - 14:15 OnlineÜbung 2: Besprechung der Ergebnisse
Di.15.12.202008:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.12.01.202108:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.12.01.202110:15 - 11:15 OnlineÜbung 3: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung
Mi.13.01.202113:15 - 15:15 Computerlabor des Instituts (CA0426)Übung 3: Übungseinheit
Di.19.01.202108:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.26.01.202108:00 - 10:00 OnlineVorlesung
Di.26.01.202110:15 - 11:15 OnlineÜbung 4: Besprechung und Fragen zur Übung

Leistungsnachweis

Der Leistungsnachweis erfolgt durch eine mündliche Prüfung, welche Montag bis Freitag von 6:00 bis 20:00 Uhr jederzeit abgelegt werden kann. Zur Vereinbarung eines Prüfungstermins senden Sie bitte ein E-Mail mit Wunschterminen, Wunschzeitpunkten oder -zeiträumen, Name, Matrikelnummer und Studienkennzahl an steinboeck@acin.tuwien.ac.at.

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
01.10.2020 00:00 31.01.2021 00:00

Curricula

Literatur

Ein Skriptum ist hier zum Download verfügbar.

Vorausgehende Lehrveranstaltungen

Vertiefende Lehrveranstaltungen

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

Deutsch