366.035 Sensors and optoelectronic Components
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2022S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VO Lecture
  • Format: Presence

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to discuss the underlying problems in capturing the respective measurands in the complementary areas of sensor technology (acoustic sensors, ion sensors, electric field sensors) and to analyze typical technical solutions.

In the field of optical sensor technology, students are able to understand, describe and perform simple calculations on interferometric sensors, the properties of optical detectors, the basics of imaging optics (ABCD formalism, Fourier optics) and physiological light measurement technology.

Subject of course

Ion sensors: Sensors of this category are distinguished by a completely different principle, in particular by the formation of electrical voltages at interfaces. Again, the presented fundamentals help to gain a deeper understanding of the functionality and typical sensor problems. The chip with currently most sensors (10 ^ 9!) Can be found here and is used for DNA sequencing. This underlines the importance in the field of automation technology and computer science.

Acoustic sensors: Especially this sub-area of sensor technology is focused on the acquisition of sound signals, which are ultimately directly or indirectly related to human perception. Consequently, the lecture conveys first the function of the ear with the required fundamentals and dimensions of the acoustics. In the technical part the different microphone types up to the MEMS microphone in the mobile phones are treated.

E-field sensor technology: The electric field is a quantity which can only be measured in a very tricky way since it can easily be disturbed. In this chapter, the main problems are discussed and the typical operating principles, both influence and electro-optical based ones, are described.

Optical Sensors: This part of the lecture deals with interferometric optical sensors (especially fiber gyroscope, Doppler velocimetry, integrated sensors), with the properties of optical detectors (image sensors, single-photon detectors), with the basics of imaging optics (ABCD formalism, Fourier optics) and physiological light measurement.

Teaching methods

Lecture

Mode of examination

Written

Additional information


This semester, the number of participants is limited to 15 people.

-------------------------------

For an exam of the written main exam at the end of the semester, please make an oral appointment with both Franz Keplinger and Georg Reider. franz.keplinger@tuwien.ac.at and georg.reider@tuwien.ac.at. Appointments are usually available at short notice.

-------------------------------

Due to the infection process, it may be necessary to adjust the format of the event and switch back to online. We will inform you in time.


Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Wed10:15 - 12:0002.03.2022 - 22.06.2022Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Sensors and optoelectronic Components - Single appointments
DayDateTimeLocationDescription
Wed02.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed09.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed16.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed23.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed30.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed06.04.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed27.04.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed04.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed11.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed18.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed25.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed01.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed08.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed15.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture
Wed22.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Lecture

Examination modalities

Written exam at 29.06.2022:
At least 50% of the possible points are required in both sections (1. Sensorics, 2. Optoelectronic Devices). The material is defined by the lectures and the script.

Duration of the exam: maximum 90 min.

Those who cannot attend the written exam must make two oral appointments, one with G. Reider and one with F. Keplinger (franz.keplinger@tuwien.ac.at und georg.reider@tuwien.ac.at). The appointments are usually available on relatively short notice.

Coordinator of the course: Prof. F. Keplinger
Help with organizational questions: M. Nuhsbaumer (martina.nuhsbaumer@tuwien.ac.at)

Exams

DayTimeDateRoomMode of examinationApplication timeApplication modeExam
Thu14:00 - 16:0020.10.2022Seminarraum 387 written12.08.2022 00:00 - 19.10.2022 23:59TISSPrüfung

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
28.02.2022 08:00 31.03.2022 00:59 31.03.2022 00:59

Curricula

Literature

Detailed script for the sensor part is available in the TUWEL course.

Language

German

Achtung: Aufgrund von Wartungsarbeiten des BRZ-SAP Systems können im TISS derzeit Fehler auftreten. Die Wartungsarbeiten sind bis 27.06.2022 angesetzt. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis.

366.035 Sensoren und optoelektronische Bauelemente
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2022S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

LVA-Bewertung

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Präsenz

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage  in den komplementären Bereichen der Sensorik (Akustische Sensorik, Ionensensorik, E-Feld-Sensorik), die zugrundeliegenden Problematiken bei der Erfassung der jeweiligen Messgröße zu diskutieren und die typischen technischen Lösungsansätze zu analysieren.

Im Bereich der optischen Sensorik sind Studierende in der Lage interferometrische Sensoren, die  Eigenschaften von optischen Detektoren, die Grundlagen der bildgebenden Optik (ABCD-Formalismus,  Fourier-Optik) und die physiologische Lichtmesstechnik zu verstehen, zu beschreiben und einfache Berechnungen durchzuführen.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Ionensensorik: Sensoren dieser Kategorie heben sich durch ein gänzlich andersartiges Prinzip hervor, im Speziellen durch die Bildung von elektrischen Spannungen an Grenzflächen. Auch hier helfen die präsentierten Grundlagen ein tieferes Verständnis der Funktionsweise und der typischen Sensorprobleme zu erlangen. Der Chip mit den derzeit meisten Sensoren (10^9!) findet sich hier und wird zur DNA-Sequenzierung verwendet. Dies unterstreicht die Bedeutung im Bereich der Automatieriungstechnik und Informatik.

Akustische Sensorik: Speziell dieses Teilgebiet der Sensorik ist auf die Erfassung von Schallsignalen ausgerichtet, welche letztlich direkt oder indirekt im Zusammenhang mit der menschlichen Wahrnehmung stehen. Die Vorlesung vermittelt daher konsequenter Weise zuerst die Funktion des Ohrs mit den erforderlichen Grundlagen und Maßeiheiten der Akustik. Im technischen Teil werden die verschiedenen Mikrofontypen bis hin zum MEMS-Mikrofon in den Handies behandelt.

E-Feld-Sensorik: Das elektrische Feld ist eine Größe die durch ihre leichte Störbarkeit nur sehr trickreich gemessen werden kann. In diesem Kapitel wird auf die wesentlichen Probleme eingegangen und die typischen Funktionsprinzipien, influenzbasierte als auch elektrooptische, eingegangen.

Optische Sensoren:  Dieser Teil der Vorlesung beschäftigt sich mit interferometrischen optischen Sensoren (vor allem Faser-Gyroskop, Doppler-Velocimetrie,  integrierte Sensoren),  mit den Eigenschaften von optischen Detektoren (Bildsensoren, Single-Photon-Detektoren),  mit den Grundlagen der bildgebenden Optik (ABCD-Formalismus,  Fourier-Optik) und mit der physiologischen Lichtmesstechnik.

Methoden

Vorlesung

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich

Weitere Informationen

 

In diesem Semester ist die Teilnehmerzahl auf 15 Personen beschränkt.

-----------------------

Für eine Prüfung abseits der schriftlichen Hauptprüfung am Semesterende machen Sie bitte sowohl einen mündlichenTermin mit Franz Keplinger als auch Georg Reider aus (franz.keplinger@tuwien.ac.at und georg.reider@tuwien.ac.at). Termine sind in der Regel kurzfristig verfügbar.

-----------------------

Auf Grund des Infektionsgeschehens kann es notwendig sein, das Format der Vorlesung kurzfristig zu ändern.
Wir informieren Sie rechtzeitig.

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mi.10:15 - 12:0002.03.2022 - 22.06.2022Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Sensoren und optoelektronische Bauelemente - Einzeltermine
TagDatumZeitOrtBeschreibung
Mi.02.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.09.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.16.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.23.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.30.03.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.06.04.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.27.04.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.04.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.11.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.18.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.25.05.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.01.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.08.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.15.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung
Mi.22.06.202210:15 - 12:00Seminarraum 387 Vorlesung

Leistungsnachweis

Schriftliche Hauptprüfung am 29.06.2022:
In beiden Teilbereichen (1. Sensorik, 2. Optoelektronische Bauelemente) sind mindestens 50% der möglichen Punkte erforderlich. Der Stoff ist durch die Vorlesungen und das Skriptum definiert.

Prüfungsdauer maximal 90 min.

Diejenigen, die die schriftliche Prüfung nicht wahrnehmen können, müssen zwei mündliche Termine, je einen bei G. Reider und einen bei F. Keplinger vereinbaren (franz.keplinger@tuwien.ac.at und georg.reider@tuwien.ac.at). Termine sind in der Regel relativ kurzfristig erhältlich.

Koordinator der Lehrveranstaltung:  Prof. F. Keplinger
Hilfe bei organisatorischen Fragen: M. Nuhsbaumer (martina.nuhsbaumer@tuwien.ac.at)

Prüfungen

TagZeitDatumOrtPrüfungsmodusAnmeldefristAnmeldungPrüfung
Mi.10:30 - 12:0029.06.2022Seminarraum 387 schriftlich02.05.2022 08:00 - 27.06.2022 23:59in TISSHauptprüfung 2022S

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
28.02.2022 08:00 31.03.2022 00:59 31.03.2022 00:59

Curricula

Literatur

Ausführliches Skriptum zum Sensorteil ist im TUWEL-Kurs verfügbar.

Sprache

Deutsch