360.231 Emerging memory and logic devices
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VO Lecture

Aim of course

The lecture provides in-depth knowledge of the state of the art and future of microelectronics by revealing the underlying physics and working principles of current and novel devices for memory and logic applications. The students learn new concepts in microectronic devices by means of their analytical and numerical analysis. An overview of computation software and modern TCAD tools used to optimize and improve emerging device properties supported by their physics background will be presented.

Subject of course

The students receive an insight into modern high-performance MOSFETs for ultra large scale integration. Special emphasis is put on performance enhancement of current CMOS devices by applying stress and exploring novel design (SOI, Fin and nanowire FETs, single, double, and 3D tri-gate devices, junction-free MOSFETs) as well FETs with germanium and III-V semiconductor high-mobility channels.

Electron spin is considered as an alternative to the charge degree of freedom for non-volatile storage and information processing. Special emphasis is put on the physical description of the operation of spin FET, spin MOSFET and other spin transistors. Approaches to reduce spin relaxation in silicon are considered. Spin is also used to develop new types of memories. Magnetization direction in modern magnetic tunnel junctions can be switched fast by purely electrical means. This makes spin transfer torque magnetic memory a perfect candidate to replace CMOS in future static and dynamic random access memories. A great advantage of the new memory is that it does not need refreshing. As in other types of resistive non-volatile memories, magnetic memory preserves its state even when the power is off.

New ideas for spin switches and memories including those based on domain wall motion and giant spin Hall effect are considered.  The concepts of spin communication, use of anti-ferromagnetic materials and topological insulators for spintronics applications are described.

Additional information

Time: Thursday, 10:00 - 12:00

Location: Seminar room E360, room number CD 0520

Start: 08-March-2017

 

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

Oral Test

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Literature

A script is available in the course of the lecture.

Language

English

360.231 Zukünftige Speicher und Logikelemente
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Vorlesung vermittelt tiefergehendes Wissen aus dem Bereich der aktuellen Mikroelektronik sowie die zugrunde liegende Physik der Funktionsweise neuartiger Bauelemente für Speicherelemente und Applikationen.  Neuartige Konzepte für mikroelektronische Bauelemente und  die analytische und numerische Analyse einschlägiger Problemstellungen werden gelehrt. Die Studierenden verstehen die physikalischen Hintergründe und bekommen einen Überblick über Techniken von TCAD-Software zur Verbesserung der Eigenschaften von aufkommenden Bauelementen.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Studierenden bekommen einen Einblick in moderne Hochleistungs-MOSFETs für Ultraintegration. Besonderer Wert wird auf die Theorie und Technologie aktueller CMOS-Transistoren gelegt: 3D Tri-gate, SOI, Fin und nanowire FETs, single- und double gate-Bauelemente, sperrschichtfreie MOSFETs, FETs mit Germanium und III-V Halbleiter high-mobility-Kanälen.

 Als möglicher alternativer Freiheitsgrad für die Verarbeitung und nichtflüchtige Speicherung von Information wird Elektronen-Spin behandelt. Besonderer Wert wird hierbei auf die zugrundeliegende Physik der Funktionsweise von Spin-FET, Spin-MOSFET und anderer Spin-Transistoren gelegt.

Als Möglichkeit die Spinrelaxation zu verringern wird Silizium behandelt. Spin wird auch verwendet, um neue Speichermedien zu entwickeln. In modernen magnetischen Tunnelübergängen ist es möglich, die Magnetisierungsrichtung sehr schnell mittels rein elektrischer Signale umzuschalten. Dies macht Spin-Transfer-Drehmoment-Magnetspeicher zu einem perfekten Kandidaten, um  statische und dynamische CMOS-Speicher  zu ersetzen. Ein großer Vorteil des neuen Speichers ist, dass er, im Gegensatz zu CMOS-DRAM, keine Wiederauffrischung benötigt. Wie auch andere Arten von resistiven nichtflüchtigen Speichern, bewahrt ein magnetischer Speicher den Zustand, selbst wenn das Gerät ausgeschaltet ist.

Neue Theorien über Spin-Kommunikation, Spin Hall-Effekt, Anti-Ferromagnetische Materialien und Topologische Isolatoren für Spintronik-Anwendungen, Ansätze für universelle Speicher und Optoelektronische Bauelemente werden beschrieben.

Weitere Informationen

Zeit: Donnerstag, 10:00 - 12:00 Uhr

Ort: Seminarraum E360, Gußhausstraße 27-29, Stiege 1, 5. Stock, CD 0520

Beginn: 07. März 2019

Vortragende

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Mündliche Prüfung

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

Literatur

Unterlagen sind im Laufe der Vorlesung erhältlich.

Sprache

Englisch