308.865 Additive Manufacturing Technologies
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2020S, VU, 2.0h, 2.0EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 2.0
  • Type: VU Lecture and Exercise

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to differentiate between multitude of possibilities available across the palette of additive manufacturing technologies and materials. An important part of this knowledge is capability of identifying suitable methods and materials based on the specific production task, as well as taking these factors into account when constructing parts.

Subject of course

In the course of this lecture the advantages and drawbacks of commercially available additive manufacturing technologies are presented. By referring to practical case-studies problems regarding materials properties and geometric properties of the manufactured parts are discussed. This class will be taught in English. In recent years, additive manufacturing has become a standard tool for product development. During this class it will be demonstrated how AM techniques can be used during the product development cycle in order to gain advantages regarding economics and time-to-market. In order to complete the class, the students will form teams of two and solve a design problem. The designed parts will be manufactured using RP and the mechanical properties of the obtained parts will be examined.

Teaching methods

In addition to the lecture itself, covering different aspects of modern additive manufacturing technologies, the students will be given a practical task involving a specific technology for producing a part and performance aim. The parts designed by the students will be produced and their performance will be compared. 

Mode of examination

Written and oral

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Mon14:00 - 15:0009.03.2020GM 4 Knoller Hörsaal - TCH preliminary meeting

Examination modalities

The students will have to conduct a literature search, design a part compatible with a additive manufacturing technology in question, participate in the production process and write a detailed report covering the rationale, process and obtained results.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
09.03.2020 10:00 16.03.2020 12:00

Group Registration

GroupRegistration FromTo
Group 105.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 205.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 305.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 405.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 505.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 434 Materials Sciences
066 445 Mechanical Engineering STEOP
Course requires the completion of the introductory and orientation phase
066 453 Biomedical Engineering
066 482 Mechanical Engineering - Management STEOP
Course requires the completion of the introductory and orientation phase
066 658 Chemie und Technologie der Materialien

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Language

English

Coronavirus - Informationen und Empfehlungen: https://colab.tuwien.ac.at/display/CORONA

308.865 Additive Manufacturing Technologies
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2020S, VU, 2.0h, 2.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 2.0
  • Typ: VU Vorlesung mit Übung

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, zwischen einer Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten zu differenzieren, die auf der Palette der Technologien und Materialien für die generativen Fertigung zur Verfügung stehen. Ein wichtiger Teil dieses Wissens ist die Fähigkeit, geeignete Methoden und Materialien basierend auf der spezifischen Produktionsaufgabe zu identifizieren und diese Faktoren bei der Konstruktion von Teilen zu berücksichtigen.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Im Rahmen dieser Lehrveranstaltung (die in englischer Sprache abgehalten wird) werden die derzeit kommerziell verfügbaren generativen Fertigungsverfahren kurz vorgestellt. Die Vor- und Nachteile der einzelnen Verfahren werden beschrieben. Anhand von praktischen Fallbeispielen werden Probleme hinsichtlich werkstofflicher und geometrischer Anforderungen diskutiert und Lösungen erarbeitet.Additive Fertigung ist im industriellen Umfeld mittlerweile ein Standardwerkzeug für die Produktentwicklung geworden. Die Lehrveranstaltung zeigt auf, wie moderne additive Fertigungsverfahren eingesetzt werden können, um ökonomische und zeitliche Vorteile bei der Produktentwicklung zu gewinnen. Neben industriell eingesetzten Verfahren wird auch auf momentan in Entwicklung befindliche Techniken eingegangen. Für den Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung bilden die Studierenden Kleingruppen, die eine einfache Designaufgabe lösen müssen. Das so erhaltene Design wird mit den am Institut vorhandenen Geräten gefertigt und hinsichtlich seiner mechanischen Eigenschaften untersucht.

Methoden

Zusätzlich zu der Vorlesung, in der verschiedene Aspekte moderner generativer Fertigungstechnologien behandelt werden, erhalten die Studierenden eine praktische Aufgabe, die eine bestimmte Technologie zur Herstellung eines Teils und eines Leistungsziels desselben umfasst. Die von den StudentInnen entworfenen Teile werden produziert und ihre Leistung wird verglichen.

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich und Mündlich

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mo.14:00 - 15:0009.03.2020GM 4 Knoller Hörsaal Vorbesprechung
Mo.14:00 - 17:0016.03.2020GM 4 Knoller Hörsaal AMT Einführung Block 1
Mo.14:00 - 17:0020.04.2020Seminarraum BD 03 AMT Block 2
Mo.14:00 - 17:0004.05.2020GM 4 Knoller Hörsaal AMT Block 3
Mo.14:00 - 17:0008.06.2020GM 4 Knoller Hörsaal AMT Block 4 + Mech. Testing
Mi.13:00 - 15:0024.06.2020GM 8/9 - Hörsaal des Internationalen Wiener Motorensymposiums AMT Präsentation

Leistungsnachweis

Die Studierenden müssen eine Literaturrecherche durchführen, ein Teil entwerfen, das mit der jeweiligen generativen Fertigungstechnologie herstellbar ist, am Produktionsprozess teilnehmen und einen detaillierten Bericht über die Hypothesen, den Herstellungsprozess und die erzielten Ergebnisse verfassen.

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
09.03.2020 10:00 16.03.2020 12:00

Gruppen-Anmeldung

GruppeAnmeldung VonBis
Group 105.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 205.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 305.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 405.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00
Group 505.03.2020 12:0013.03.2020 12:00

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 434 Materialwissenschaften
066 445 Maschinenbau STEOP
Lehrveranstaltung erfordert die Erfüllung der Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase STEOP
066 453 Biomedical Engineering
066 482 Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen - Maschinenbau STEOP
Lehrveranstaltung erfordert die Erfüllung der Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase STEOP
066 658 Chemie und Technologie der Materialien

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Sprache

Englisch