308.101 Metallic High Temperature Materials
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2020S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC, to be held in blocked form
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VO Lecture

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to understand the property requirements for high-temperature applications of alloys: Knowledge of physical properties and mechanisms in materials and their effects on phases and microstructure evolution and mechanical properties under thermal/mechanical load.

Subject of course

Requirements for high-temperature materials, typical alloy systems, creep, high-temperature fatigue, high-temperature corrosion, microstructure evolution, applications of material groups, e.g. steel, Ni-base alloys, intermetallics, refractory metals, thermal diffuison barrier coatings, High-Entropy Alloys.

Teaching methods

Powerpoint presentation, white board, computer presentations of materials simulations. 

At the beginning of each lecture unit short summary of previous lecture, giving the students the possibility to clarify open points and to ask in-depth questions. At the end of each lecture unit there is a short question and answer session.

Mode of examination

Oral

Additional information

Language: English

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Wed10:30 - 11:3004.03.2020 GM 3 Vortmann Hörsaal BA02A05prelimenary meeting
Course is held blocked

Examination modalities

Oral individual exams in several dates per semester. The first date of exam takes place approx. 2 weeks after the end of lecture. A list of typical examination questions is handed out to the students after the end of lecture for optimum preparation for the exam.

Duration of exam: 10 minutes preparation time after handing out the examination sheet, followed by 20 minutes of examination.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
04.03.2020 14:00 12.05.2021 23:59 12.05.2021 23:59

Curricula

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Language

English

308.101 Metallische Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2020S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC, wird geblockt abgehalten

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, die Anforderungen an Eigenschaften metallischer Werkstoffe im Hochtemperatur-Anwendungsbereich zu verstehen. Das beinhaltet Verständnis der physikalischen Vorgänge im Werkstoff und der Phasen- und Gefügeentwicklung bei thermisch/mechanischer Belastung und Auswirkungen auf Materialeigenschaften.

 

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Anforderungen an Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe, typische Legierungssysteme, Kriechen, Hochtemperatur-Korrosion, Gefügeveränderungen durch hohe Temperaturen, Einsatzbereiche von Hochtemperaturwerkstoffen, z.B. Stahl, Nickelbasislegierungen, Intermetallics, refraktären Metallen, Hochtemperaturbeschichtungen, Hochentropie Legierungen

Methoden

Powerpoint Präsentation, white board, Computerpräsentationen von Werkstoffsimulationen. 

Am Beginn jeder Vorlesungseinheit wird eine kurze Zusammenfassung der vorhergehenden Vorlesungseinheit gegeben mit der Möglichkeit für die Studierenden, Unklarheiten zu beseitigen und vertiefende Fragen zu stellen. Am Ende jeder Vorlesungseinheit wird eine kurze Fragerunde abgehalten.

Prüfungsmodus

Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Die Vorlesung wird in englischer Sprache abgehalten Termine:

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mi.10:30 - 11:3004.03.2020 GM 3 Vortmann Hörsaal BA02A05Vorbesprechung
LVA wird geblockt abgehalten

Leistungsnachweis

Mündliche Einzelprüfungen in mehreren Terminen je Semester. Der erste Termin findet etwa 2 Wochen nach Kursende statt. Eine Liste typischer Prüfungsfragen wird den Studierenden zur optimalen Vorbereitung für die Prüfung nach Kursende ausgehändigt.

Prüfungsdauer: Vorbereitungszeit der KandidatInnen nach Aushändigung des Prüfungsbogens 10 Minuten, danach 20 Minuten Prüfung.

 

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
04.03.2020 14:00 12.05.2021 23:59 12.05.2021 23:59

Curricula

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Sprache

Englisch