280.949 Right to the City and Spatial Planning: Focus ‘Aging Society'
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2021W, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

Course evaluation

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VU Lecture and Exercise
  • Format: Presence

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to

  • summarize and critically reflect on 'right to the city' discourses and (recent) perspectives from care debates,
  • summarize and critically reflect on current debates around 'age friendly' cities, urban development and planning,
  • discuss approaches in the field of aging research and identify their relevance for planning and urban design process, and everyday practices of space production of older persons at the interface of housing and public space,
  • independently conduct qualitative empirical research, i.e., identify a research problem, develop a research design, apply methods of empirical social research, and interpret the empirical results in discussion with theoretical-conceptual approaches,
  • recognize ethical challenges in research processes and critically examine one's own role as a researcher,
  • present and discuss the research project and results in a written report,
  • present the research project in the course of a final presentation.

Subject of course

The topic of age has received growing attention in recent decades and has come to the fore once again in the context of the Corona pandemic. On the hand, we can notice an attention in terms of the increasing absolute number of old and very old people and their relative population share. On the other hand, age-related issues in media debates, politics and academia are very often dominated by negative scenarios – e.g., an apparent threat of aging populations, the emergence of a ‘retirement society’ and the associated ‘care crisis.’ Different age stereotypes and images of aging – from the ideal of the ‘active ager’ to the vulnerable and fragile very old, who need particular protection and care – shape public discourses. The associated values and norms serve as points of orientation for individuals, social groups and organizations.

In this context, city administrations and professionals from the fields of planning, architecture and urban development are increasingly confronted with questions around “age-friendly cities” (WHO 2007) in order to meet these demographical changes. In particular, questions concerning the design of age-appropriate living environments, the provision of and access to housing, social infrastructure and public spaces in cities are becoming virulent. In this course, we will explore debates around ‘aging societies’ and age-friendly cities, and will search for the “hidden geographies of age” (Skinner et. al. 2015) in the everyday routines of older people at the interface between housing and public space. The focus here is to explore and understand how everyday practices and ways of life, perspectives and experiences of older people in Vienna look like, and ask what implications this might have for urban development and related issues. To do so, we engage with literature and studies in aging research that highlight the relevance of older people’s knowledge and take a closer look at the conditions for living in old age ‘on the ground.’ By applying different qualitative methods, the aim is to make visible and tangible urban everyday knowledge and practices of older people, which often remain unconsidered by previous planning practice and research.

Skinner, Mark W., Cloutier, Denise and Andrews, Gavin J. (2015), Geographies of ageing: Progress and possibilities after two decades of change, Progress in Human Geography 39(6): 776–799.

WHO World Health Organization (2007) Global Age-friendly Cities: A Guide. Geneva: WHO.

Teaching methods

The course combines lecture and exercise parts. It includes lectures, literature reading and seminar discussion as well as the independent development of an empirical research project within small student groups. Depending on the Corona regulations, excursions to relevant actors and projects in Vienna will be conducted. 

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

***Update course format 24.11.2021: Due to the lockdown the course will take place online until further notice (presumably until the end of the year 2021)***

The course is assigned to the following elective modules:

  • Wahlmodul 5: Gesellschaft, Alltag und Raum
  • Wahlmodul 1: Global Development of Cities and Regions

The course mainly addresses master students from planning and architecture, and interested advanced bachelor students. We explicitly welcome students coming from other Viennese universities in disciplines relating to urban studies and spatial research, such as educational studies, migration studies, urban design, geography, sociology, political science, landscape architecture, cultural studies (‘Mitbeleger’ at TU Wien). The course language is English. We support students’ active participation in debates and interactive teaching formats. We encourage students to bring in and develop their own ideas and critical perspectives. We seek to create an international level of debate and exchange and welcome students from all countries and cultures. Just contact us (info@skuor.tuwien.ac.at).

The Kick-Off of Module 5: Society, Everyday Life and Space will take place on October 4, 2021, 10:00-11:00 with all teachers of the module courses ('Kernfächer' and 'Ergänzungsfächer‘). We invite all students to participate via zoom:  

 

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Mon10:00 - 11:0004.10.2021 via zoom (LIVE)Module Kick-Off
Tue14:00 - 16:0005.10.2021EI 1 Petritsch HS Einheit 1
Tue15:00 - 19:0012.10.2021EI 3A Hörsaal Einheit 2-3
Tue12:00 - 14:0009.11.2021 see: https://skuor.tuwien.ac.at/en/veranstaltungen/vortraege/book-launch-care-and-the-city-encounters-with-urban-studiesBook Launch Care and the City: Encounters with Urban Studies
Tue15:00 - 18:3016.11.2021EI 3A Hörsaal Einheit 4-5
Tue15:00 - 16:3014.12.2021 online via zoomEinheit 7
Tue17:00 - 18:3014.12.2021 online via zoomEinheit 8
Tue15:00 - 17:0011.01.2022 online via zoom (LIVE)Einheit 9
Tue15:00 - 19:0025.01.2022 online via zoom (LIVE)Einheit 10-11

Examination modalities

The assessment is based on

(1) the reading and preparation of the compulsory literature (individual) and

(2) the implementation of an independently developed research project (group-based). Part of the assessment are the submitted research report and the final presentation of the results with subsequent discussion.

The fulfillment of both criteria as well as 80% attendance are required for positive completion.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
07.09.2021 09:00 05.10.2021 09:00 05.10.2021 14:00

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 440 Spatial Planning

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Language

English

280.949 Recht auf Stadt und Raumplanung : Fokus ‘alternde Gesellschaft'
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2021W, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VU Vorlesung mit Übung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Präsenz

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage...

  • ‚Recht auf Stadt‘-Diskurse und kritische (jüngere) Perspektiven aus Debatten des Sorgetragens und Care zusammenzufassen und kritisch zu reflektieren,
  • aktuelle Debatten rund um „alter(n)sgerechte“ Städte, Stadtentwicklung und -planung zusammenzufassen und kritisch zu reflektieren,
  • Ansätze in der Alter(n)sforschung zu erörtern und die Relevanz für Prozesse und alltägliche Praktiken der Raumproduktion von älteren Personen an der Schnittstelle zu Wohnen und öffentlichem Raum zu benennen,
  • selbstständig qualitative empirische Forschung durchzuführen, d.h. ein Forschungsproblem zu identifizieren, ein Forschungsdesign zu entwickeln, Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung anzuwenden und die empirischen Ergebnisse in Auseinandersetzung mit theoretisch-konzeptionellen Ansätzen zu interpretieren,
  • ethische Herausforderungen im Forschungsprozess zu erkennen um die eigene Rolle als Forscher_in kritisch zu überprüfen, 
  • die Durchführung und Ergebnisse der Forschung in einem Forschungsbericht zu präsentieren und diskutieren,
  • das Forschungsprojekt im Rahmen einer Abschlusspräsentation zu präsentieren.

 

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Das Thema Alter hat in den letzten Jahrzehnten zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen und ist zuletzt im Kontext der Corona-Pandemie nochmals verstärkt in den Vordergrund gerückt. Diese Aufmerksamkeit lässt sich einerseits durch die steigende absolute Zahl alter und hochaltriger Menschen und ihren relativen Bevölkerungsanteil begründen. Andererseits zeigt sich eine Dominanz von Altersthemen in medial-öffentlichen und politischen Debatten, die dabei sehr oft mit Negativszenarien einhergeht – einer scheinbar drohenden „Überalterung“, der Entstehung einer „Rentengesellschaft“ und dem damit verbundenen „Pflegenotstand“, u.dgl. Unterschiedliche Altersstereotypen und Altersbilder – von dem Ideal der „aktiven Alten“ bis hin zu den vulnerablen und fragilen Hochaltrigen, die es gesellschaftlich besonders zu schützen gilt – prägen den öffentlichen Diskurs. Die damit verknüpften Werte und Normen fungieren dabei als Orientierungspunkte für das Handeln von Individuen, sozialen Gruppen und Organisationen.

In diesem Kontext sehen sich Stadtverwaltungen und Fachleute aus den Bereichen Planung, Architektur und Städtebau zunehmend mit der gesellschaftspolitischen Forderung nach „alter(n)sgerechten Städten“ (WHO 2007) konfrontiert, die den demografischen Veränderungen Rechnung tragen sollen. Virulent dabei werden insbesondere Fragestellungen hinsichtlich der Gestaltung alter(n)sgerechter Wohnumfelder, der Bereitstellung und des Zugangs zu Wohnraum, sozialer Infrastruktur und öffentlichen Räumen in Städten. In dieser Lehrveranstaltung gehen wir den Debatten rund um „alternde Gesellschaften“ und alter(n)sgerechte Städte auf den Grund und machen uns gemeinsam auf die Suche nach den „versteckten Geographien des Alter(n)s“ (Skinner et. al. 2015) in den Alltagsroutinen von älteren Menschen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wohnraum und öffentlichem Raum. Der Fokus dabei liegt darauf, zu erforschen und zu verstehen, wie alltägliche Praktiken und Lebensmodelle, Vorstellungen und Erfahrungen von älteren Menschen in Wien aussehen und welche Implikationen dies für stadtentwicklungsrelevante Problemstellungen haben könnten. Dazu setzen wir uns auch mit bereits vorangetriebenen Studien der Alter(n)sforschung auseinander, die die Wissensformen älterer Menschen ins Zentrum stellen und die die Verhältnisse „vor Ort“ für das Leben im Alter näher in den Blick nehmen. Ziel ist es, durch die Anwendung unterschiedlicher qualitativer Methoden, urbane alltägliche Wissensformen und -praktiken von älteren Menschen sichtbar und greifbar zu machen, die von der bisherigen Planungspraxis und -wissenschaft oftmals unberücksichtigt bleiben.

Skinner, Mark W., Cloutier, Denise und Andrews, Gavin J. (2015), Geographies of ageing: Progress and possibilities after two decades of change, Progress in Human Geography 39(6): 776–799.

WHO World Health Organization (2007) Global Age-friendly Cities: A Guide. Geneva: WHO.

Methoden

Die Lehrveranstaltung kombiniert Vorlesungs- und Übungsteil und umfasst damit Inputs, Literatur-Lektüre und -Diskussion sowie die selbstständige Durchführung eines empirischen Forschungsprojekts in Kleingruppen. Abhängig von den Corona-Bestimmungen werden Exkursionen zu relevanten Akteur_innen und Projekten in Wien durchgeführt.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

***Update LV-Modus 24.11.2021: Aufgrund des Lockdowns wird die Lehre bis auf weiteres online durchgeführt (voraussichtlich bis Ende des Jahres 2021)***

Die LVA ist den folgenden Wahlmodulen zugeordnet:

  • Wahlmodul 5: Gesellschaft, Alltag und Raum
  • Wahlmodul 1: Global Development of Cities and Regions

Der Kurs richtet sich in erster Linie an Studierende im Master Raumplanung und Architektur sowie interessierte Bachelorstudierende in den letzten Semestern. Wir laden ausdrücklich auch Studierende von anderen Universitäten ein, die sich mit raum- und stadtforschungsbezogenen Fragestellungen beschäftigen, als „Mitbeleger“ an der Lehrveranstaltung teilzunehmen. Die Lehrveranstaltung findet auf Englisch statt. Wir unterstützen die aktive Teilnahme der Studierenden in Debatten durch interaktive Lernformate. Wir ermutigen Studierende sich in die Gestaltung der Lehrveranstaltung einzubringen, um eigene Ideen und kritische Perspektiven zu entwickeln. Kontakt: (info@skuor.tuwien.ac.at).

Das Kick-Off des Wahlmoduls 5: Gesellschaft, Alltag und Raum findet am 4. Oktober 2021, 10:00-11:00 Uhr gemeinsam mit allen Lehrveranstaltungsleiter_innen der Kernfächer und Ergänzungsfächer statt. Wir laden alle Studierenden ein, via zoom teilzunehmen:   


Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mo.10:00 - 11:0004.10.2021 via zoom (LIVE)Modul Kick-Off
Di.14:00 - 16:0005.10.2021EI 1 Petritsch HS Einheit 1
Di.15:00 - 19:0012.10.2021EI 3A Hörsaal Einheit 2-3
Di.12:00 - 14:0009.11.2021 see: https://skuor.tuwien.ac.at/en/veranstaltungen/vortraege/book-launch-care-and-the-city-encounters-with-urban-studiesBook Launch Care and the City: Encounters with Urban Studies
Di.15:00 - 18:3016.11.2021EI 3A Hörsaal Einheit 4-5
Di.15:00 - 19:0030.11.2021EI 3A Hörsaal Einheit 6-7
Di.15:00 - 17:0014.12.2021EI 3A Hörsaal Einheit 8
Di.15:00 - 17:0011.01.2022EI 3A Hörsaal Einheit 9
Di.15:00 - 19:0025.01.2022Seminarraum 362 - 1 Einheit 10-11

Leistungsnachweis

Die Leistungsbeurteilung erfolgt anhand

(1) der Bearbeitung der Pflichtliteratur (individuell) und

(2) der Durchführung eines selbstständig entwickelten Forschungsprojekts (gruppenbasiert). Beurteilt werden hier der zu erstellende Forschungsbericht und die Endpräsentation der Ergebnisse mit anschließender Diskussion.

Beide Teilleistungen sowie eine 80%tige Anwesenheit sind Voraussetzung für den positiven Abschluss.

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
07.09.2021 09:00 05.10.2021 09:00 05.10.2021 14:00

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 440 Raumplanung und Raumordnung

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Sprache

Englisch