264.031 Architectural Model Making II
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019W, UE, 3.0h, 4.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 3.0
  • Credits: 4.0
  • Type: UE Exercise

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to produce a professional model of an architectural, artistic or industrial product design using analogue and digital production techniques. Students acquire practical craftsmanship as well as formal aesthetic skills (coping with questions of representation concerning scale, material, abstraction, etc.). 

Subject of course

In contrast to the main course Architekturmodellbau 258.032, where only presentation models of architectural designs are produced, models of artistic and industrial product design can also be created in this LVA. The results are more in the area of experimental model building and prototype construction. All the materials that are usually used in model making are processed: Plastics, metals, wood, cardboard etc.

Teaching methods

Project work; the students build their models under expert guidance and have access to state-of-the-art machinery.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

Registration is not necessary at the beginning of the semester. Registration takes place throughout the year if you submit plans of your own design as part of a registration interview. Special programs (e.g. for exhibitions) and cooperation projects with design institutes are also offered occasionally.

Within the framework of this LVA, models or parts of models can be produced with the aid of CNC-controlled machines (laser cutter, 3-axis portal milling machines). 3D printers and a spray room are also available. For the production of objects with CAM techniques (Computer Aided Manufacturing), the in-depth courses "Numerical Manufacturing Methods" (LVA 264.048 VO) and "Digital Model" (LVA 264.047 VU) are additionally recommended.

A photo studio offers the possibility of documenting the result photographically. Here we recommend the in-depth LVA 264.120 "Architectural Photography".

Workshop opening hours: Monday to Friday from 9.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m. (during holidays the workshop is closed).

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

3d model

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 443 Architecture

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Continuative courses

Language

German

264.031 Architekturmodellbau II
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019W, UE, 3.0h, 4.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 3.0
  • ECTS: 4.0
  • Typ: UE Übung

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, ein professionelles Modell von einem architektonischen, künstlerischen oder Designentwurf unter Rückgriff auf analoge und digitale Produktionstechniken zu fertigen. Die Studierenden erwerben praktisch-handwerkliche Fertigkeiten, aber auch formal-ästhetische Kompetenzen (Bewältigung von Darstellungsfragen, die Maßstab, Material, Abstraktion usw. betreffen).  

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Anders als in der Hauptlehrveranstaltung Architekturmodellbau 258.032, wo ausschließlich Präsentationsmodelle von Architekturentwürfen gefertigt werden, können in dieser LVA auch Modelle von Design- und freieren künstlerischen Entwürfen erstellt werden. Die Ergebnisse sind eher im Bereich des experimentellen Modellbaus und des Prototypenbaus angesiedelt. Es kommen alle Werkstoffe zur Verarbeitung, die im Modellbau üblicherweise Anwendung finden: Kunststoffe, Metalle, Holz, Karton etc.

Methoden

Projektarbeit; die Studierenden erstellen ihre Modelle unter fachkundiger Anleitung und können dabei auf einen Maschinenpark zurückgreifen, der dem Stand modernster Technik entspricht.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Zu Semesterbeginn ist keine Anmeldung nötig. Die Anmeldung erfolgt übers Jahr bei Vorlage von Plänen eines eigenen Entwurfs im Rahmen eines Anmeldegesprächs. Fallweise werden auch Sonderprogramme (etwa für Ausstellungen) und Kooperationsprojekte mit Entwurfsinstituten angeboten.

Im Rahmen dieser LVA können Modelle bzw. Teile von Modellen mithilfe von CNC-gesteuerten Maschinen (Lasercutter, 3-Achsportalfräsen) gefertigt werden. Darüber hinaus stehen 3D-Drucker und ein Spritzraum zur Verfügung. Für die Fertigung der Objekte mit CAM Techniken (Computer Aided Manufacturing) werden zusätzlich die vertiefenden Lehrveranstaltungen "Numerische Fertigungsmethoden" (LVA 264.048 VO) und "Digitales Modell" LVA 264.047 VU empfohlen.

Ein Fotostudio bietet die Möglichkeit, das Ergebnis fotografisch zu dokumentieren. Hier empfiehlt sich die vertiefende LVA 264.120 „Architekturfotografie“.

Öffnungszeiten Werkstätte: Montag bis Freitag von 9.00 bis 18.00 Uhr (in den unterrichtsfreien Zeiten ist die Werkstatt geschlossen).

Vortragende

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

3D Modell

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 443 Architektur

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vertiefende Lehrveranstaltungen

Sprache

Deutsch