260.142 Basic Skills dealing with organizations
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2021W, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VU Lecture and Exercise
  • Format: Distance Learning

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to describe the purpose of organizations. They can analyse and criticise the culture and processes in organisations. They can allocate power in organisations and they can help shape their own working environment. 

Subject of course

Course Objectives
Gain organizational competence: Understanding of processes in organizations, confidence in performing in organizations, helping to shape one's own work environment.

Content of the course
The classical understanding of organizations as well as the systems theory view of organizations, social systems, organizational structure, line and project management, teams as high performers in organizations, team building and group dynamics, roles and functions, organizational research, organizational paradoxes, people in organizations, organizational culture, organizational development, social psychology and rationalization myths.

In addition to theoretical inputs, individual organizational phenomena are simulated practically in the seminar. Teams are formed at the first session. These teams will then have the task of "researching" various organizations/companies between the individual seminar blocks using different questions and criteria, preparing and presenting the results for the seminar.

All dates of the Block-LV are obligatory.

Teaching methods

Group work: Exploring organizations through practice interviews. Analysis of the results. Presentation in the seminar. Simulation of organizational phenomena. Processing of theoretical questions. Discussion of case studies.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

Intended for students of the second study stage (Master)! Organizational experience (e.g. internship) is an advantage. Lecture with practical exercises, self-study, individual and group work. Block course!

Please participate on the computer and in a quiet, undisturbed working environment (not via cell phone - for various group processes it is necessary to be able to see all participants in the gallery view). You need a stable internet connection as well as active audio and video (micro, webcam). The seminar is interactive and depends on your participation.

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Sat10:45 - 18:0016.10.2021 online (LIVE)Blockveranstaltung
Sat10:45 - 18:0006.11.2021 online (LIVE)Blockveranstaltung
Sat10:45 - 16:0027.11.2021 online (LIVE)Blockveranstaltung

Examination modalities

Active continuous participation, group work, written thesis (here the extent and the subject depends on the desired grade, approx. 6-12 pages)

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
01.10.2021 12:00 14.10.2021 18:00 14.10.2021 18:00

Registration modalities

Zu Beginn des ersten Termins bitte pünktlich kommen!

Curricula

Literature

Simsa: Organisationssoziologie. In: Schülein/Mikl-Horke/Simsa: Soziologie für das Wirtschaftsstudium; Simon: Einführung in die systemische Organisationstheorie; Weick: Der Prozess des Organisierens; Wimmer/Meissner/Wolf: Praktische Organisationswissenschaft; Kasenbacher: Gruppen und Systeme

Continuative courses

Miscellaneous

  • Attendance Required!

Language

German

260.142 Basic Skills im Umgang mit Organisationen
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2021W, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VU Vorlesung mit Übung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Distance Learning

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage den Zweck von Organisationen zu beschreiben. Sie können die Kultur und Abläufe in Organisationen analysieren und kritisieren. Sie können Macht in Organisationen zuordnen und sie können die eigene Arbeitsumgebung mitgestalten.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung
Organisationskompetenz gewinnen: Verständnis für Abläufe in Organisationen, Sicherheit beim Auftreten in Organisationen, Mitgestalten der eigenen Arbeitsumgebung

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung
Das klassische Verständnis von Organisationen sowie die systemtheoretische Sicht auf Organisationen, soziale Systeme, Organisationsstruktur, Linien- und Projektmanagement, Teams als Leistungsträger in Organisationen, Teambuilding und Gruppendynamik, Rollen und Funktionen, Organisationsforschung, Organisations-Paradoxien, Menschen in Organisationen, Organisationskultur, Organisationsentwicklung, Sozialpsychologie und Rationalisierungsmythen

Im Seminar werden neben theoretischen Inputs einzelne Organisations-Phänomene praktisch simuliert. Beim ersten Termin werden Teams gebildet. Diese Teams haben in weiterer Folge die Aufgabe, zwischen den einzelnen Seminarblöcken verschiedene Organisationen/Unternehmen anhand unterschiedlicher Fragestellungen und Kriterien zu "erforschen", die Ergebnisse für das Seminar aufzubereiten und zu präsentieren.

Alle Termine der Block-LV sind verpflichtend zu besuchen.

Methoden

Gruppenarbeit: Erforschung von Organisationen durch Praxis-Interviews. Analyse der Ergebnisse. Präsentation im Seminar. Simulation von Organisations-Phänomenen. Aufarbeitung theoretischer Fragestellungen. Diskussion von Fallbeispielen.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Für Studierende des zweiten Studienabschnitts (Master) gedacht! Organisationserfahrung (Bsp. Praktikum) von Vorteil. Vorlesung mit praktischen Übungen, Selbststudium, Einzel- und Gruppenarbeiten. Blocklehrveranstaltung!

Bitte am Computer und in ruhiger störungsfreier Arbeitsumgebung teilnehmen (nicht übers Handy - für verschiedene Gruppenprozesse ist es nötig, alle Teilnehmer*innen in der Galerieansicht sehen zu können). Sie brauchen eine stabile Internetverbindung sowie eine aktive Audio- und Videofunktion (Mikro, Webcam). Das Seminar ist interaktiv aufgebaut und lebt von Ihrer Mitarbeit.

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Sa.10:45 - 18:0016.10.2021 online (LIVE)Blockveranstaltung
Sa.09:45 - 18:0006.11.2021 online (LIVE)Blockveranstaltung
Sa.09:45 - 16:0027.11.2021 online (LIVE)Blockveranstaltung

Leistungsnachweis

Aktive durchgehende Teilnahme, Gruppenarbeiten, schriftliche Abschlussarbeit (hier ist das Ausmaß und die Themenstellung abhängig von der angestrebten Note, ca. 6-12 Seiten)

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
01.10.2021 12:00 14.10.2021 18:00 14.10.2021 18:00

Anmeldemodalitäten

Zu Beginn des ersten Termins bitte pünktlich kommen!

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 490 Technische Chemie
TRS Transferable Skills

Literatur

Simsa: Organisationssoziologie. In: Schülein/Mikl-Horke/Simsa: Soziologie für das Wirtschaftsstudium; Simon: Einführung in die systemische Organisationstheorie; Weick: Der Prozess des Organisierens; Wimmer/Meissner/Wolf: Praktische Organisationswissenschaft; Kasenbacher: Gruppen und Systeme

Vertiefende Lehrveranstaltungen

Weitere Informationen

  • Anwesenheitspflicht!

Sprache

Deutsch