259.563 Embedded Architectures Advanced Computational Modelling and Visualization for Architecture and Environment Integration
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2020W, UE, 4.0h, 5.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 4.0
  • Credits: 5.0
  • Type: UE Exercise
  • Format: Distance Learning

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to plan and execute computer-aided work processes, to integrate GIS and parametric modeling with optimization tools in data-driven design processes. This makes it possible to work in a transscalar mode in the intersection between architecture, landscape architecture and urban planning.


Subject of course

Embedded Architectures (Hensel & Sunguroğlu Hensel 2020) is a specific approach that has developed from performance-oriented architecture (Hensel 2013; Hensel & Sunguroğlu Hensel 2019). While the performance-oriented architecture is among other things Concentrating on the interaction of architecture and the environment, the embedded architecture continues this approach in the direction of architecture and environment integration. This approach expands the question of whether architecture can serve the natural environment to the question of how architecture can be an integral part of the natural environment.

The goal of Summer Studio is to teach computer-aided design with an emphasis on architectural and environmental interactions and integration. This includes data on local terrain, vegetation, climate, etc. The context for the design is Val Lumenzia, in the canton of Graubünden in Switzerland.

The focus is on learning how to plan and execute computer-aided workflows, and to integrate GIS and parametric modeling with optimization tools for the purpose of transcalar design.

 

Teaching methods

Due to the current restrictions due to the corona pandemic, lectures, workshops and project meetings are only offered online. These take place in the regular class time on Thursdays. The slides of all lectures are made accessible on the course-specific Nextcloud folder.

GIS and computer-aided design and analysis processes are presented and integrated into the design process, and computational worklows are designed.

Selected literature study is necessary in order to obtain relevant background knowledge.

Lectures and seminars serve as an introduction to the subject area of "embedded architectures".

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

This summer studio is designed for students with good computational skills that wish to further develop their ability to develop data-driven computational workflows that integrate GIS with parametric modelling and computational simulation and optimization tools. The studio will work with QGIS and SAGA GIS, as well as Rhino and Grasshopper.

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

Interim presentations and final presentation of the studio work with invited guest critics.

Because of Covi 19 the presentations will be held online.

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 443 Architecture

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

Good knowledge of the English language and of Rhino and Grasshopper are required to participate in the summer design.

Language

English

259.563 Kleines Entwerfen Sommerentwerfen Embedded Architectures
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2020W, UE, 4.0h, 5.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 4.0
  • ECTS: 5.0
  • Typ: UE Übung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Distance Learning

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage computer-gestützte Arbeitsababläufe zu planen und auszuführen, die GIS und parametrische Modellierung mit Optimierungswerkzeugen in data-getriebenen Entwurfsprozessen zu integrieren. Dies macht es möglich in der Schnittfläche von Architektur, Landschaftsarchitektur und Städtebaulichem Entwurf transskalar zu arbeiten.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Embedded Architectures (Hensel & Sunguroğlu Hensel 2020) ist einspezifischen Ansatz der sich aus performance-orientierte Architektur entwickelt hat (Hensel 2013; Hensel & Sunguroğlu Hensel 2019). Während sich die performance-orientierte Architektur u.a. auf die Interaktion von Architektur und Umgebung konzentriert, führt die eingebettete Architektur diesen Ansatz in Richtung Architektur und Umwelt Integration weiter. Dieser Ansatz erweitert die Frage, ob Architektur im Dienst der natürlichen Umwelt stehen kann, auf die Frage, wie Architektur ein integraler Bestandteil der natürlichen Umwelt sein kann.

Das Ziel des Sommer Entwerfens ist es, computergestützten Entwurf mit Schwerpunkt auf Architektur- und Umweltinteraktionen und -integration zu lehren. Dazu gehören Daten zu lokalem Gelände, Vegetation, Klima usw. Der Kontext für den Entwurf ist Val Lumenzia, im Kanton Graubünden in der Schweiz.

Der Schwerpunkt liegt darauf zu lernen computer-gestützte Arbeitsababläufe zu planen und auszuführen, die GIS und parametrische Modellierung mit Optimierungswerkzeugen zum Zweck des transskalaren Designs zu integrieren.

Methoden

Wegen der derzeitigen Beschränkungen aufgrund der Corona Pandemie werden Vorlesungen, Workshops und Projektbesprechungen auschliesslich Online angeboten. Diese finden in der regulären Unterrichtszeit an Donnerstagen statt. Die Folien aller Vorlesungen werden auf dem Kursspezifischen Nextcloud Folder zugänglich gemacht.

GIS und computer-gestützte Entwurfs- und Analyse-verfahren werden vorgestellt und in den Entwurfsprozess integriert und Computational Worklows werden konzipiert.

Ausgewählte Literaturstudie ist not wendig um relevantes Hintergrungwissen zu erlangen.

Vorlesungen und Seminare dienen der Einführung in den Themenbereich der "eingebetteten Architekturen".

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Dieses Sommerstudio ist für StudentInnen mit guten Computerkenntnissen konzipiert, die ihre Fähigkeit zur Entwicklung datengesteuerter Computerworkflows, die GIS und parametrische Modellierungs- und Computersimulations- und -optimierungswerkzeuge integrieren, vertiefen möchten. Das Studio wird mit QGIS und SAGA GIS sowie Rhino und Grasshopper arbeiten.

Vortragende Personen

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Interim Präsentationen und Schlusspräsentation der Studioarbeit mit eingeladenen Gastkritikern.

Wegen Covi 19 werden die Präsentationen online abgehalten.

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 443 Architektur

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

Gute Kenntnisse der Englischen Sprache und von Rhino und Grasshopper sind erforderlich an dem Sommer Entwerfen teilzunehmen.

Sprache

Englisch