258.032 Architectural Model Making
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2022W, UE, 3.0h, 4.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 3.0
  • Credits: 4.0
  • Type: UE Exercise
  • Format: Presence

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to produce a presentation model of an architectural design, using analog and digital production techniques. Students acquire practical craftsmanship as well as formal aesthetic skills (coping with questions of representation concerning scale, material, abstraction, and further more).

Subject of course

The students create an architectural presentation model based on their own architectural design (developed within the framework of design programs at the faculty), under expert guidance and using state-of-the-art machinery. Occasionally, models of given projects are also created within the framework of special programs (e.g. in connection with exhibitions). All materials that are commonly used in model making are used: plastics, metals, wood, cardboard, etc.

Teaching methods

project work

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

Within the scope of this LVA, models or parts of models can be manufactured using different tools and machines (laser cutter, 3-axis gantry milling machine, 3D printers etc.). A spray room is also available. Registration is not necessary at the beginning of the semester. The registration takes place over the year with presentation of plans of one's own draft in the context of a registration discussion (Wed. 13:00 - 15:00). Special programmes (e.g. for exhibitions) may also be offered on a case-by-case basis. Workshop opening hours: Monday to Friday from 9.00 a.m. to 6.00 p.m. (The workshop is closed during the times when there are no lessons).

!!! COVID-19: If, due to requirements of the federal government or the Vienna University of Technology, it is not possible to hold the course and the examination or the partial performances in presence, the online format will be used. By changing to the online format, the dates announced for the face-to-face course and examination (partial performances) may change. In the event of a change to the online format, the course will be held via zoom meetings and the examination mode will take the form of an oral final presentation.

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

design and presentation of an architectural model

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
033 243 Architecture

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Language

German

258.032 Architekturmodellbau
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2022W, UE, 3.0h, 4.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 3.0
  • ECTS: 4.0
  • Typ: UE Übung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Präsenz

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage ein Präsentationsmodell von einem architektonischen Entwurf unter Rückgriff auf analoge und digitale Produktionstechniken zu fertigen. Die Studierenden erwerben praktisch-handwerkliche Fertigkeiten, aber auch formal-ästhetische Kompetenzen (Bewältigung von Darstellungsfragen, die Maßstab, Material, Abstraktion usw. betreffen).

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Studierenden erstellen unter fachkundiger Anleitung und Benutzung eines auf dem Stand modernster Technik befindlichen Maschinenparks ein Architektur-Präsentationsmodell, das in der Regel auf einem eigenen architektonischen Entwurf basiert (entwickelt im Rahmen von Entwurfsprogrammen an der Fakultät). Fallweise werden auch Modelle von vorgegebenen Projekten im Rahmen von Sonderprogrammen (im fakultären Forschungskontext und/oder im Zusammenhang mit Ausstellungen) erstellt. Es kommen alle Werkstoffe zur Verarbeitung, die im Modellbau üblicherweise Anwendung finden: Kunststoffe, Metalle, Holz, Karton etc.

Methoden

Projektarbeit

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Im Rahmen dieser LVA können Modelle bzw. Teile von Modellen mithilfe verschiedener Werkzeuge und Maschinen (Lasercutter, 3-Achsportalfräsen, 3D Drucker usw.) gefertigt werden. Darüber hinaus steht ein Spritzraum zur Verfügung. Zu Semesterbeginn ist keine Anmeldung nötig. Die Anmeldung erfolgt übers Jahr bei Vorlage von Plänen eines eigenen Entwurfs im Rahmen eines Anmeldegesprächs (Mi. 13:00 - 15:00). Fallweise werden auch Sonderprogramme (etwa für Ausstellungen) angeboten. Öffnungszeiten Werkstätte: Montag bis Freitag von 9.00 bis 18.00 Uhr (In den unterrichtsfreien Zeiten ist die Werkstatt geschlossen.)

!!! COVID-19: Sollte aufgrund von Vorgaben der Bundesregierung bzw. der TU-Wien die Abhaltung der Lehrveranstaltung und der Prüfung bzw. der Teilleistungen in Präsenz nicht möglich sein, wird in das online-Format gewechselt. Durch den Wechsel in das online-Format können sich die für die Präsenzlehrveranstaltung und -prüfung (-teilleistungen) angekündigten Termine ändern. Bei einem Wechsel ins online-Format wird die Lehrveranstaltung über Zoom-Meetings abgehalten und der Prüfungsmodus wird in entsprechender Form einer Abschlusspräsentation mündlich gestaltet.

Vortragende Personen

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Entwurf und Präsentation eines Architekturmodells

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
033 243 Architektur

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Sprache

Deutsch