253.C75 Entwerfen (Bachelor) "Open Design Academy"
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2018W, UE, 8.0h, 10.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 8.0
  • Credits: 10.0
  • Type: UE Exercise

Aim of course

OPEN DESIGN ACADEMY – the potentials of creative educational environments in Paris

The design studio aims to research and develop an OPEN DESIGN ACADEMY in order to demonstrate the potential of architecture for interdisciplinary creative learning. A site in Paris will serve as a testing ground to facilitate a change in thinking in regard to the typology of an open educational institution for art, architecture and design.

Subject of course

The world is changing rapidly and the design profession is transforming with it. The design and design education should address perpetually changing environmental, social, technological and economical realities. The environment of design education should therefore provide a suitable framework for the multitude of creative responses.

Furthermore, the austere specialisation of creative professions has drastically limited conceptual thinking and design education during the last decades. The OPEN DESIGN ACADEMY aims to return to understanding design as a process of thinking similar to the mid-Century approach promoted by Milanese architect Ernesto Rogers - who sees the role of the designer stretching "from the spoon to the city" - articulating the desire and devotion of many architects and designers to cross scales and disciplines.

The programme of OPEN DESIGN ACADEMY aims to dissolve the disciplinary boundaries of architecture, art and design and therefore calls for architectural proposals with the capacity to evoke specific spatial experience, stimulate participation and spark creative interaction among the variety of users.

The research of existing historical and contemporary art and design institutions will set the grounds to perceive and understand how creative educational environments evolve and interact not only with the creative life of students and faculty members, but also with the wider public. This will provide guidance in order to propose an improved typology for an interdisciplinary educational institution for art, architecture and design that weaves into the public fabric.

Intensive design and research experimentation will merge the explicit concern of spatial organisation and materiality with the socio-political potential of its architectural form through a large scale city-like educational structure transcending the notion of building on a currently empty site close to the notorious rim of Paris – Périphérique.

The initial research of existing university facilities dedicated to creativity will be expanded with a series of excursions, including Vienna, Paris and finally Nantes. These experiential explorations will focus on atmospheres for creativity with the potential to challenge the architectural typology of the design academy.

 

Additional information

This Entwerfen will be organised in teams (teams consisting of 2 students). Course language: GERMAN and ENGLISH

Lecturers

Institute

Application

TitleApplication beginApplication end
Bachelor Enwerfen WS1810.09.2018 09:0001.10.2018 23:59

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
033 243 Architecture 6. SemesterSTEOP
Course requires the completion of the introductory and orientation phase

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Language

German

253.C75 Entwerfen (Bachelor) "Open Design Academy"
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2018W, UE, 8.0h, 10.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 8.0
  • ECTS: 10.0
  • Typ: UE Übung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

OFFENE DESIGN AKADEMIE - Die Potenziale kreativer Lehrumgebungen in Paris

Das Ziel der Lehrveranstaltung ist es eine multidisziplinäre Design Akademie zu entwickeln um aufzuzeigen welches Potenzial Architektur bietet um eine fächerübergreifende Gestaltungslehre zu fördern. Um die Typologie dieses interdisziplinären Lehrgebäudes zu prüfen und zu implementieren steht ein Grundstück in Paris zur Verfügung.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Wir durchleben heute Zeiten rapider Veränderungen die die Berufsfelder der Gestaltung direkt mit sich ziehen. Diese Disziplinen müssen auf unablässig sich verändernden wirtschaftlichen, sozialen, technischen und ökologischen Realitäten reagieren. Hierzu bedarf es einer Gestaltungspädagogik und ihrer entsprechenden Umgebung um ein Gefüge herzustellen das vielfältige und interdisziplinäre Kreativlösungen ermöglicht, inspiriert und hervorbringt.

Des weiteren hat in den letzten Jahrzehnten die übermäßig strenge Spezialisierung der kreativen Berufsfelder eine Limitierung des konzeptuellen Denkens zur Folge gehabt.  Mithilfe einer Rückbesinnung auf den Ansatz des Mailänder Architekten Ernesto Rogers - worin er die Rolle des Gestalters in der Gestaltung „vom Löffel bis zur Stadt„ (1952) spannt - visiert die Design Akademie ein Denken an, das verschiedene Maßstäbe und Disziplinen kreuzt.

Das Programm visiert die Auflösung disziplinärer Grenzen zwischen Architektur, Kunst und Design an. Hierzu sollen Projekte entwickelt werden, die dieses Ziel in einer räumlichen Erfahrung manifestieren und die Interdisziplinarität und kreative Interaktion zwischen den diversen Nutzern stimulieren.

Die Untersuchung existierender historischer und gegenwärtiger Kunst und Design Institutionen wird einen Nährboden generieren um zu verstehen wie kreative Lehr- und Lernumgebungen sich entwickeln und mit dem Leben der Studierenden, der Lehrenden und der Öffentlichkeit interagieren. Dies wird eine Führungshilfe generieren um eine Typologie der interdisziplinären Kunst, Architektur und Design Institution zu entwickeln die eine bestimmte Haltung zur Öffentlichkeit einnehmen wird.

Mithilfe gestalterischen Experimente und umfassender Untersuchungen wird eine Lösung gesucht, die die räumliche Organisation, Materialität und das sozialpolitische Potenzial in einer Form manifestiert. Als Verortung steht ein ambivalentes Baufeld zur Verfügung, das zwischen innerstädtischen Paris, Périphérique und berüchtigtem Banlieue liegt.

Im Anschluss an der Recherche existierender Universitäten diverser kreativer Disziplinen wird eine Exkursionsreihe in Wien, Paris und abschließend in Nantes stattfinden. Diese Erkundungen werden sich auf diverse kreative Atmosphären konzentrieren, die wiederum die Entwicklung der Design Akademie anregen sollen.

Weitere Informationen

Das Entwerfen findet in Gruppenbearbeitung statt (2er Teams). Kurssprache: DEUTSCH und ENGLISCH.

Vortragende

Institut

Bewerbung

TitelBewerbungsbeginnBewerbungsende
Bachelor Enwerfen WS1810.09.2018 09:0001.10.2018 23:59

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
033 243 Architektur 6. SemesterSTEOP
Lehrveranstaltung erfordert die Erfüllung der Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase STEOP

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Sprache

Deutsch