253.179 Sustainability Challenge
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2021W, VO, 2.0h, 4.0EC, to be held in blocked form

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 4.0
  • Type: VO Lecture
  • Format: Distance Learning

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to grasp the dimension of sustainability in a comprehensive and transdisciplinary way. At the end of the semester, sufficient knowledge is provided and available as a basis for the development of a "Service Learning Project"

The course should enable and encourage the students to approach the individual projects in a solution-oriented manner and with a focus on a sustainable way of life and economy. Above all, design and action skills are promoted. The students independently develop topics that are relevant to them, discuss them critically with their colleagues, adapt questions or change them entirely, make trend-setting decisions in the course of project work and set concrete milestones that should lead to the desired goal. This enables them to develop independent and structured ways of working. The continuous learning process is made visible and what has been learned is internalized through regular reflection on the theoretical knowledge acquired and the experience gained from practical implementation. Working in interdisciplinary teams is a core element of the course. It requires a high degree of independence and promotes both organizational and communication skills.

Additional information for course participants:

Service Learning Track: In addition to the common learning outcomes, the Service Learning Track also includes problem-solving skills when it comes to specific practical questions. The participating students learn to understand the plans of the practice partners, to form their own picture and then to go into the concrete and well-considered implementation.

Start-up track: In addition to the common learning outcomes, the start-up track also includes problem-solving skills when it comes to your own idea and its implementation. The participating students individually address a social, ecological or socio-ecological problem that they face and for which they develop their own solution approaches.

.

 

Subject of course

The contents of the course (LV) relate to the main topic "Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)" - the global sustainability goals of the United Nations. Both the individual course units and the project questions are embedded in this topic. It is particularly valuable that different disciplines and perspectives are represented. On the one hand, the lecturers come from different subject areas, such as sociology, spatial planning, architecture, ecological economics, systems science or climate research. On the other hand, the course participants are students from various fields of study and universities.

This interdisciplinary approach enables an important range of topics to be dealt with in order to be able to address the SDGs to a justified extent. In view of the fact that sustainability makes up many areas of our social and professional life, there are cross-connections to almost all curricula. Together we want to develop solutions for local and global socio-ecological challenges and that is especially possible when different disciplines, perspectives and experiences are represented. The specific individual topics of the four course units are determined by the participating teachers shortly before the start of the semester, as they wait to see which project questions will be included in the new year and which disciplines will be taught together in team teaching.

In the start-up track, there are also regular project working hours with the supervising start-up coaches, whereby a business model for the students' ideas is worked out together in the winter semester before the business plan is specified in the summer semester.

 

Teaching methods

Over the last 10 years, a variety of special methods and teaching and learning designs have been developed for the Sustainability Challenge.

The start takes place with a kick-off at Vienna University of Technology. This is followed by steakholder workshops for the teachers with the integrated companies, team teching sessions, intersisciplinary workshops, touch down, reunion and service learning in the summer semester. Each semester is concluded with a public event, where the results of the semester are presented by the students.

Mode of examination

Written and oral

Additional information

Additional information for course participants:

Teachers from two participating universities will lead through the course units in team teaching, so it may take a little longer to coordinate the exact content. However, more detailed information will be sent to you punctually at the beginning of the semester in a detailed syllabus. In the start-up track, there will also be regular project working hours, where the business model for your project idea is developed step by step in the winter semester and the business plan is pending in the summer semester.

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Tue10:00 - 12:0012.10.2021 online via ZoomIntroduction to Service Learning
Thu09:00 - 12:0014.10.2021 Gebäude EA im Foyer, WU WienTeambuilding
Thu13:00 - 20:0014.10.2021 Kuppelsaal TU WienKick off
Thu13:00 - 20:0013.01.2022 Festsaal WU WienStop Over
Course is held blocked

Examination modalities

Over the last 10 years, a variety of special methods and teaching and learning designs have been developed for the Sustainability Challenge.

The start takes place with a kick-off at Vienna University of Technology. This is followed by steakholder workshops for the teachers with the integrated companies, team teching sessions, intersisciplinary workshops, touch down, reunion and service learning in the summer semester. Each semester is concluded with a public event, where the results of the semester are presented by the students.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
26.09.2021 12:00 15.10.2021 12:00 02.12.2021 12:00

Registration modalities

Anm,eldung erfoplgt über anderes Portal.

Curricula

Literature

Neue Literaturliste wird erstellt und ist dann In Kürze verfügbar!

Miscellaneous

Language

German

253.179 Sustainability Challenge, Interuniversitäre Lehrveranstaltung
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2021W, VO, 2.0h, 4.0EC, wird geblockt abgehalten

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 4.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Distance Learning

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage,  die Dimension der Nachhaltigkeit umfassend und transdisziplinär erfassen. Zum Ende des Semesters werden ausreichende Kenntnisse zur Verfügung gestellt, die als Grundlage für die Entwicklung eines "Service Learning Project" dienen

Die Lehrveranstaltung soll den Studierenden ermöglichen und sie dazu ermutigen, lösungsorientiert und mit einem Fokus auf eine zukunftsfähige Lebens- und Wirtschaftsweise in den einzelnen Projekten heranzugehen. Dabei werden vor allem die Gestaltungs- und Handlungskompetenz gefördert. Die Studierenden erarbeiten selbständig für sie relevante Themen, diskutieren sie kritisch mit ihren Kolleg*innen, passen Fragestellungen an oder ändern sie zur Gänze, treffen richtungsweisende Entscheidungen im Laufe der Projektarbeit und legen konkrete Meilensteine fest, die zum gewünschten Ziel führen sollen. Dadurch entwickeln sie eigenständige und strukturierte Arbeitsweisen. Durch regelmäßige Reflexion des erlangten theoretischen Wissens sowie der Erfahrungen aus der Umsetzungspraxis wird der kontinuierliche Lernprozess sichtbar gemacht und das Gelernte verinnerlicht. Die Arbeit in interdisziplinären Teams ist ein Kernelement der Lehrveranstaltung. Sie erfordert ein hohes Maß an Selbstständigkeit und fördert sowohl Organisations- sowie Kommunikationsfähigkeit.

Zusatzinformationen für LV-Teilnehmer*innen:
Service Learning Track: Zusätzlich zu den gemeinsamen Lernergebnissen kommt im Service Learning Track verstärkt die Problemlösungskompetenz dazu, wenn es um konkrete Fragestellungen aus der Praxis geht. Die teilnehmenden Studierenden lernen, das Vorhaben der Praxispartner*innen zu verstehen, sich ein eigenes Bild zu machen und anschließend in die konkrete und überlegte Umsetzung zu gehen.

 

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Die Inhalte der Lehrveranstaltung (LV) beziehen sich auf das Schwerpunktthema "Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)" - die globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen. Sowohl die einzelnen LV-Einheiten als auch die Projektfragestellungen werden in dieses Thema eingebettet. Dabei ist es besonders wertvoll, dass unterschiedliche Disziplinen und Perspektiven vertreten sind. Zum einen kommen die Lehrenden aus verschiedenen Fachgebieten, wie zum Beispiel Soziologie, Raumplanung, Architektur, Ökologische Ökonomie, Systemwissenschaft oder Klimaforschung. Zum anderen sind die Lehrveranstaltungsteilnehmer*innen Studierende aus verschiedenen Studienrichtungen und Universitäten.
Diese Interdisziplinarität ermöglicht eine wichtige Bandbreite an behandelten Themen, um in einem gerechtfertigten Maße auf die SDGs eingehen zu können. Querverbindungen finden sich in Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass Nachhaltigkeit sehr viele Bereiche unseres gesellschaftlichen und beruflichen Lebens ausmacht, zu nahezu allen Curricula. Gemeinsam wollen wir Lösungen für lokale und globale sozialökologische Herausforderungen entwickeln und das geht vor allem, wenn unterschiedliche Disziplinen, Sichtweisen und Erfahrungen vertreten sind. Die konkreten Einzelthemen der vier LV-Einheiten werden zeitnah vor Semesterbeginn von den beteiligten Lehrpersonen festgelegt, da abgewartet wird, welche Projektfragestellungen im neuen Jahrgang dabei sein werden sowie welche Disziplinen gemeinsam im Teamteaching lehren werden.
Im Start-up Track gibt es zudem regelmäßige Projektarbeitszeiten mit den betreuenden Start-up Coaches, wobei im Wintersemester ein Business Model für die Ideen der Studierenden gemeinsam erarbeitet wird bevor im Sommersemester die Konkretisierung des Businessplans ansteht.

Methoden

Für die Sustainability Challenge wurden über die letzten 10 Jahre eine Vielfalt besonderer Methoden und Lehr-, Lerndesigns entwickelt.

Der Start erfolgt mit einem Kick-off im Kuppelsaal der TU Wien (wenn möglich in Präsenz, wenn nicht online). Es folgen Steakholder-Workshops für die Lehrenden mit den eingebundenen Firmen, Teamteching Sessions, Intersisziplinäre Workshops, Touch down, Reunion und Service Learning im Sommersemester. Jedes Semester wird mit einem öffentlichen Event abgeschlossen, wo die Ergebnisse des Semesters von den Studierenden präsentiert werden.

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich und Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Zusatzinformationen für LV-Teilnehmer*innen:

Lehrpersonen von je zwei teilnehmenden Universitäten werden im Teamteaching durch die LV-Einheiten führen und so kann es sein, dass die Abstimmung der genauen Inhalte etwas länger dauert. Nähere Informationen werden jedoch pünktlich zu Semesterbeginn in einem ausführlichen Syllabus extra zugeschickt. Im Start-up Track gilt zudem, dass es regelmäßig Projektarbeitszeiten geben wird, wo Schritt für Schritt zunächst im Wintersemester das Business Model für eure Projektidee erarbeitet wird und im Sommersemester der Business Plan ansteht.

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Di.10:00 - 12:0012.10.2021 online Termin, ZoomEinführung in das Service Learning
Do.09:00 - 12:0014.10.2021 Gebäude EA im Foyer, WU WienTeambuilding
Do.13:00 - 20:0014.10.2021 Kuppelsaal TU Wien, Prasenz/HybridKick Off:
Do.13:00 - 20:0013.01.2022 Festsaal WU WienStop Over
LVA wird geblockt abgehalten

Leistungsnachweis

Für die Sustainability Challenge wurden über die letzten 10 Jahre eine Vielfalt besonderer Methoden und Lehr-, Lerndesigns entwickelt.

Der Start erfolgt mit einem Kick-off im Kuppelsaal der TU Wien (wenn möglich in Präsenz, wenn nicht online). Es folgen Steakholder-Workshops für die Lehrenden mit den eingebundenen Firmen, Teamteching Sessions, Intersisziplinäre Workshops, Touch down, Reunion und Service Learning im Sommersemester. Jedes Semester wird mit einem öffentlichen Event abgeschlossen, wo die Ergebnisse des Semesters von den Studierenden präsentiert werden.

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
26.09.2021 12:00 15.10.2021 12:00 02.12.2021 12:00

Anmeldemodalitäten

Anm,eldung erfoplgt über anderes Portal.

Curricula

Literatur

Neue Literaturliste wird erstellt und ist dann In Kürze verfügbar!

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

Deutsch