On July 30th, 2024, due to an important database update, there will be service interruptions in the Student Self-Service and Workforce Management areas between 8 AM and 11 AM. Thank you for your understanding.

251.883 Optional seminar Monument + City
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2022W, SE, 3.5h, 5.0EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 3.5
  • Credits: 5.0
  • Type: SE Seminar
  • Format: Hybrid

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to work scientifically and have gained experience in archival and literature research. They will be able to apply and expand these experiences in research on individual objects, ensembles or cities in the course of their studies. 

Subject of course

In the second half of the 19th century, the "imperial capital and residential city" of Vienna underwent a revolutionary regulation and redesign. This is accompanied by enormous losses of historical building fabric and identity-forming ensembles. This transformation of the city - the loss of "Old Vienna" - leads on the one hand to melancholy and nostalgia. This phenomenon, borne by the industrial revolution and its effects on society, can be observed not only in Vienna but throughout Europe.
At the same time, the dawn of the future of the "New Vienna" is enthusiastically welcomed by architects and cultural workers and promotes the emergence of new technical and scientific disciplines, for example photography as a medium of documentation. Among the protagonists of the time was the Viennese architect and urban planning theorist Camillo Sitte (1843-1903), who himself was critical of issues of urban preservation and monument conservation. He vehemently attacked the common practice of exempting historical architectural monuments - and he was not alone in this position.
It was against this background that the predecessor institution of today's Federal Monuments Office was established in Austria, the so-called "K.K. Zentralkommission für Denkmalpflege" (Central Commission for the Preservation of Monuments), which at that time was still exclusively dedicated to the preservation and maintenance of architectural monuments.

This Seminar will deal with the early days of Austrian monument preservation and trace the considerations of urban preservation at that time. The thematic focus will be placed specifically on the Viennese situation and the urban planning level: In what historical environment did the discipline of monument preservation develop? Which buildings, which ensembles and cityscapes were considered worthy of preservation or how was their significance defined? Who are the decisive personalities on the cultural, scientific but also political level - which actors support this development? What positions do urban planners take on the question of how to deal with the historic city? What are the visions of the city and what is the position of heritage conservation? To what extent did the treatment of the historically evolved urban landscape and the ensembles that shape it change from the 19th to the 20th century?

 

Teaching methods

  • Critical examination of the theoretical foundations of monument preservation and urban development; guest lecturers will examine individual aspects in this context; 
  • Development of one's own critical position based on the current state of research; 
  • Application of the basics of scientific work (methodology, scientific writing, citing, publishing, ...); 
  • Introduction to analogue and digital research methods in libraries, archives or use of databases.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

Termin:

weekly, Thursday 14:00-16:00; from October 20th 2022; SR 257

obligation to be present!

Handouts and reference books will be provided.

Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: Directive concerning the handling of plagiarism (PDF)

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Thu14:00 - 16:0003.11.2022HS 17 Friedrich Hartmann - ARCH 251.883 Gastvortrag Friedrich Hauer

Examination modalities

Writing a seminar paper: Each participant has to submit a written, methodologically sound, scientific paper of approx. 20 pages of continuous text. The language of the written work is (preferably) German. The results will be presented in a final presentation.
The assessment criteria also include active participation in the group meetings, short presentations and text discussions. In particular, active participation in the guided tours of libraries and archives: Archive of the TU Wien; Austrian National Library; Library MAK, etc. The corresponding dates will be announced at the beginning of the course.

Application

TitleApplication beginApplication end
Wahlseminare12.09.2022 09:0026.09.2022 23:59

Curricula

Study CodeObligationSemesterPrecon.Info
033 243 Architecture Not specified6. SemesterSTEOP
Course requires the completion of the introductory and orientation phase

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

recommended and preferred are:

  • great interest in the history, architecture and development of urban planning of the 19th and early 20th century.
  • interest in architecture and architect biographies of historicism
  • very good written and spoken German
  • interest in scientific work
  • Enthusiasm for archival research and source research

Language

German

251.883 Wahlseminar Denkmal + Stadt
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2022W, SE, 3.5h, 5.0EC
TUWEL

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 3.5
  • ECTS: 5.0
  • Typ: SE Seminar
  • Format der Abhaltung: Hybrid

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage eine Forschungsfrage zu formulieren und diese in der Form eines selbstständig verfassten (wissenschaftlich) fundierten Textes zu diskutieren. Die Einhaltung der Praktiken und Gepflogenheiten des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens sollen ein immanenter Bestandteil der Qualifikation der Studierenden sein.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Stadtplanung und Denkmalpflege in Wien um 1900

Die „Reichshaupt– und Residenzstadt“ Wien erfährt in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts eine umwälzende Regulierung und Neugestaltung. Dies geht mit enormen Verlusten an historischer Bausubstanz und identitätsstiftenden Ensembles einher. Diese Transformation der Stadt – der Verlust „Alt-Wiens“ – führt einerseits zu Wehmut und Nostalgie. Dieses Phänomen, getragen von der industriellen Revolution und ihren Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft, lässt sich nicht nur in Wien, sondern europaweit beobachten. 
Gleichzeitig wird der Aufbruch in die Zukunft des „Neuen Wien“ von Architekten und Kulturschaffenden enthusiastisch begrüßt und fördert die Entstehung neuer technischer und wissenschaftlicher Disziplinen, beispielsweise der Fotografie als Medium der Dokumentation. Unter den damaligen Protagonisten scheint auch der Wiener Architekt und Städtebau-Theoretiker Camillo Sitte (1843–1903) auf, der sich selbst zu Fragestellungen der Stadterhaltung und Denkmalpflege kritisch äußerte. Vehement griff er etwa die gängige Praxis der Freistellung von historischen Baumonumenten an - und er war mit dieser Position nicht alleine. 
Vor diesem Hintergrund konstituiert sich in Österreich die Vorläuferinstitution des heutigen Bundesdenkmalamts, die sogenannte „K.K. Zentralkommission für Denkmalpflege“, die sich zum damaligen Zeitpunkt noch ausschließlich der Erhaltung und Pflege von Baudenkmälern widmet. 

Dieses Wahlseminar wird sich mit der Frühzeit der österreichischen Denkmalpflege befassen und den damaligen Überlegungen zur Stadterhaltung nachspüren. Der thematische Fokus wird dabei speziell auf die Wiener Situation und die städtebauliche Ebene gelegt: In welchem historischen Umfeld entwickelte sich die Disziplin der Denkmalpflege? Welche Bauwerke, welche Ensembles und Stadtbilder wurden als erhaltenswert erachtet oder wie wurde ihre Bedeutung definiert? Wer sind die entscheidenden Persönlichkeiten auf kultureller, wissenschaftlicher aber auch politischer Ebene – welche Akteure tragen diese Entwicklung? Welche Positionen zur Frage des Umgangs mit der historischen Stadt nehmen Stadtplaner ein? Welche Visionen der Stadt gibt es und wie steht die Denkmalpflege dazu? Inwiefern änderte sich der Umgang mit der historisch gewachsenen Stadtlandschaft und den sie prägenden Ensembles vom 19. ins 20. Jahrhundert?

Methoden

  • Kritische Auseinandersetzung mit den theoretischen Grundlagen der Denkmalpflege und des Städtebaus, dazu werden Gastvortragende einzelne Aspekt näher beleuchten;
  • Entwicklung einer eigenen, kritischen Position, basierend auf dem aktuellen Forschungsstand;
  • Anwendung der Grundlagen des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens (Methodik, wissenschaftliches Schreiben, Zitieren, Publizieren, ...);
  • Einführung in analoge und digitale Recherchemethoden in Bibliotheken, Archiven bzw. Benutzung von Datenbanken.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Termin:

wöchentlich Donnerstag, 14.00-16.00; Beginn am 20.10.2022, SR 257

Anwesenheitspflicht!

Es werden ein umfangreicher Handapparat an der Fachbereichsbibliothek und Handouts als Hilfestellung zur Verfügung gestellt.

Sondertermine:

Die angegebenen Führungen sind – vorbehaltlich etwaiger Sicherheitsmaßnahmen im Rahmen der Pandemiesituation – geplant und verstehen sich als verpflichtend. Terminverschiebungen sind möglich, bitte laufend LVA-News verfolgen. 

Führung Archiv der TU Wien - Camillo Sitte Nachlass,
Hauptgebäude TU Wien, Eingang Archiv, Stiege 3, Erster Stock
https://www.tuwien.ac.at/dle/archiv/
Treffpunkt: 10. November 2022, 14:00
 
Führung Bibliothek der TU Wien, 
Treffpunkt Vortragsraum, 5. Stock
https://www.tuwien.at/bibliothek
Treffpunkt: Termin wird angekündigt 

Führung Nationalbibliothek 
Moderne Bibliothek, Prunksaal (Gebührenpflichtig, Anmeldung erforderlich) 
https://www.onb.ac.at/besucherinfo/lageplaene/bibliothek-am-heldenplatz
Treffpunkt: 19. Jänner 2023, 14:00, Foyer Heldenplatz

Führung MAK 
Museum für angewandte Kunst, Stubenring 5,
www.MAK.at www.sammlung.MAK.at  
Treffpunkt: Termin wird angekündigt, Kassa im Hauptsaal

Einführung Bibliothek Akademie der Bildenden Künste 
Foyer Schillerplatz 3, 1010 Wien
https://www.akbild.ac.at/Portal/bibliothek
Treffpunkt: Termin wird angekündigt 

Führung Wiener Stadt- und Landesarchiv
Foyer, Gasometer A, Guglgasse 14, 1110 Wien 
https://www.wien.gv.at/kultur/archiv/
Treffpunkt: Termin wird angekündigt

Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: Leitfaden zum Umgang mit Plagiaten (PDF)

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Do.14:00 - 16:0003.11.2022HS 17 Friedrich Hartmann - ARCH 251.883 Gastvortrag Friedrich Hauer

Leistungsnachweis

Verfassen einer Seminararbeit: Jede(r) Teilnehmer_in hat eine schriftliche, methodisch einwandfreie, wissenschaftliche Arbeit im Umfang von ca. 20 Seiten Fließtext vorzulegen. Sprache der schriftlichen Arbeit ist (vorzugsweise) deutsch. Die Ergebnisse werden im Rahmen einer Schlusspräsentation vorgestellt. 
Zu den Bewertungskriterien zählen auch die aktive Teilnahme an den Gruppenterminen, Kurzreferate und Textbesprechungen. Besonders aber auch die aktive Teilnahme an den Führungen in Bibliotheken und Archiven: Archiv der TU Wien; Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Bibliothek MAK, u.a. Die entsprechenden Termine werden zu Beginn der Lehrveranstaltung bekannt gegeben.

Bewerbung

TitelBewerbungsbeginnBewerbungsende
Wahlseminare12.09.2022 09:0026.09.2022 23:59

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
033 243 Architektur 6. SemesterSTEOP
Lehrveranstaltung erfordert die Erfüllung der Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase STEOP

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

empfehlenswert und erwünscht sind: 

  • Interesse an der Geschichte, der Architektur und der Entwicklung des Städtebaus des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts
  • Interesse an Architektur und Architektenbiographien des Historismus
  • sehr gute Deutschkenntnisse in Schrift und Sprache
  • Interesse am wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten
  • Begeisterung für Archivrecherche und Quellenforschung

Sprache

Deutsch