251.813 excursion on special topics of architecture
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2021W, EX, 2.0h, 2.0EC
TUWEL

Course evaluation

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 2.0
  • Type: EX Excursion
  • Format: Hybrid

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to...

  • Produce short films
  • submit abstracts to scientific conferences
  • learn how to present at a scientific conference
  • discuss world heritage in the digital age

Subject of course

The first Cultural Heritage and New Technologies (CHNT) conference took place in Vienna in November 1996, at that time still under the name “Workshop Archaeology & Computers”, with 60 participants from Austria, Germany and Switzerland. The mission of the conference was and still is to bring together in Vienna scholars from all over the world covering a wide range of disciplines and using the latest technologies for prospection, research, documentation, conservation and presentation and management of the world’s cultural heritage. A particular concern is to make the conference usable as a platform to exchange ideas on the agendas of cultural property protection. 

The 26th CHNT will be held under the motto The World’s Heritage in the Digital Age – New Technologies towards Sustainable Research, Conservation and Communication. The World Heritage Convention provides a clear framework for the conservation of sites on the World Heritage List. In this way many innovations are developed in particular for the research, conservation and communication of those sites. Still there are many challenging tasks that can be met with innovative technologies and new interdisciplinary methods.

The conference aims to bring together international scientists from all over the world who are involved in research, conservation and management of the world’s cultural heritage. Innovative measuring, data management and processing tools are requested as well as the methods and approaches for the research, management and monitoring of sites and objects. Discussion among colleagues from a wide range of disciplines is a major focus of the event. Sessions, round tables, advanced trainings, applications and poster presentations present the latest approaches to researching, managing and monitoring archaeological monuments, world heritage sites and cultural objects. 

These objectives are now complemented by those of ICOMOS (International Council on Monuments and Sites). ICOMOS is an NGO for the protection and conservation of the world’s monuments and sites of outstanding value.

As part of the course, students will be involved in aspects of the implementation of the conference. For this purpose, either short films can be created as a presentation of the World Heritage Historic Centre Vienna for the conference, or the conference can be documented on film.  

The excursion is to visit the conference and the filming in Vienna.

>>Einführung in die LVA: Freitag, 08. Oktober 2021, 01:00 pm digital via Zoom

Teaching methods

    • Introduction to the production of short films
    • Writing abstracts on the individual topics of the conference
    • Participation in the conference

Mode of examination

Immanent

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Mon10:00 - 12:0011.10.2021 - 24.01.2022Seminarraum 251 251813
excursion on special topics of architecture - Single appointments
DayDateTimeLocationDescription
Mon11.10.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon18.10.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon25.10.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon08.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon15.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon22.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon29.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon06.12.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon13.12.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon10.01.202210:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon17.01.202210:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mon24.01.202210:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813

Examination modalities

  • Short film and treatment, if visited in combination with 251,169 architectural documentation and presentation or
  • an excursion report min. 5 pages of text, additionally illustrations in the form of pictures or sketches

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 443 Architecture

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Accompanying courses

Language

German

251.813 Exkursion zu Sonderthemen der Baukunst
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2021W, EX, 2.0h, 2.0EC
TUWEL

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 2.0
  • Typ: EX Exkursion
  • Format der Abhaltung: Hybrid

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage...

  • Kurzfilme zu produzieren
  • Abstracts bei wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen einzureichen
zu lernen, wie man auf einer wissenschaftlichen Konferenz präsentiert
  • das Welterbe im digitalen Zeitalter zu diskutieren


Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Die erste Cultural Heritage and New Technologies (CHNT) Konferenz fand im November 1996 in Wien statt, damals noch unter dem Namen "Workshop Archaeology & Computers", mit 60 Teilnehmern aus Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz. Ziel der Konferenz war und ist es, Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt in Wien zusammenzubringen, die ein breites Spektrum an Disziplinen abdecken und die neuesten Technologien zur Prospektion, Erforschung, Dokumentation, Erhaltung, Präsentation und Verwaltung des Weltkulturerbes einsetzen. Ein besonderes Anliegen ist es, die Konferenz als Plattform für den Gedankenaustausch über die Agenden des Kulturgüterschutzes nutzbar zu machen. 

Die 26. CHNT steht unter dem Motto The World's Heritage in the Digital Age - New Technologies towards Sustainable Research, Conservation and Communication. Die Welterbekonvention bietet einen klaren Rahmen für die Erhaltung von Stätten, die auf der Welterbeliste stehen. Auf diese Weise werden viele Innovationen insbesondere für die Erforschung, Erhaltung und Vermittlung dieser Stätten entwickelt. Dennoch gibt es viele herausfordernde Aufgaben, die mit innovativen Technologien und neuen interdisziplinären Methoden gelöst werden können.

Ziel der Konferenz ist es, internationale Wissenschaftler aus der ganzen Welt zusammenzubringen, die sich mit der Erforschung, Erhaltung und Verwaltung des Weltkulturerbes befassen. Gefragt sind innovative Mess-, Datenmanagement- und -verarbeitungswerkzeuge sowie Methoden und Ansätze für die Erforschung, Verwaltung und Überwachung von Stätten und Objekten. Die Diskussion unter Kollegen aus den verschiedensten Disziplinen ist ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt der Veranstaltung. In Sessions, Round Tables, Fortbildungen, Bewerbungen und Posterpräsentationen werden die neuesten Ansätze zur Erforschung, Verwaltung und Überwachung von archäologischen Denkmälern, Welterbestätten und Kulturgütern vorgestellt. 

Diese Ziele werden nun durch die Ziele von ICOMOS (International Council on Monuments and Sites) ergänzt. ICOMOS ist eine Nichtregierungsorganisation, die sich für den Schutz und die Erhaltung von Denkmälern und Stätten von außergewöhnlichem Wert in der Welt einsetzt.

Im Rahmen der Lehrveranstaltung werden die Studierenden in Aspekte der Umsetzung der Konferenz eingebunden. Dazu können entweder Kurzfilme als Vorstellung des Welterbe Historisches Zentrum Wien für die Konferenz erstellt, oder die Konferenz filmisch dokumentiert werden.  

Die Exkursion dient zum Besuch der Konferenz, bzw. der Filmaufnahmen in Wien.

>>Einführung in die LVA: Freitag, 08. Oktober 2021, 13:00 digital via Zoom


Methoden

  • Einführung in die Produktion von Kurzfilmen
  • Schreiben von Abstracts zu den einzelnen Themengebieten der Konferenz
  • Teilnahme an der Konferenz

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mo.10:00 - 12:0011.10.2021 - 24.01.2022Seminarraum 251 251813
Exkursion zu Sonderthemen der Baukunst - Einzeltermine
TagDatumZeitOrtBeschreibung
Mo.11.10.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.18.10.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.25.10.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.08.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.15.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.22.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.29.11.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.06.12.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.13.12.202110:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.10.01.202210:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.17.01.202210:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813
Mo.24.01.202210:00 - 12:00Seminarraum 251 251813

Leistungsnachweis

  • Kurzfilm und Treatment, wenn in Kombination mit 251.169 Architekturdokumentation und Präsentation besucht oder
  • ein Exkursionsbericht min. 5 Seiten Text, zusätzlich Illustrationen in Form von Bildern oder Skizzen

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 443 Architektur

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Begleitende Lehrveranstaltungen

Sprache

Deutsch