193.060 Cognitive Foundations of Visualization
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2020W, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VO Lecture
  • Format: Distance Learning

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to describe psychological theories of perception, to analyse them, to understand them and to critically reflect them. The know various methods of visualizations and are able to assess their advantages and disadvantages. They are acquainted with various evaluation methods and know in which context they should be applied. They are also able to use these theories in an exemplary fashion for the design of visualisations and to evaluate them using these theories. They are able to assess scientific text in this area.

Subject of course

In this lecture, psychological theories of human perception are described. They will be analysed critically. Furthermore, we will check whether these theories are relevant for the evaluation of visualisations. In addition, the design and evaluation of visualizations will be described. Methododologies that can be used for this purpose will be discussed. Some exemplary methods for information visualisation will be described.

Teaching methods

In this lecture psychological theories of human perception are presented and discussed critically together with the students. Examples for the application of these theories for the design and evaluation of information visualizations are presented.

This lecture will be held online. There will be four Zoom meetings where the lecture is briefly described and questions can be asked (1.12., 14:00, 15.12., 14 h, 12.1.2021, 14:00, 19.1., 14 h). There are no other online meetings. The slides are sufficient for the preparation for the exam. There will be an additional  written description of selected chapters at the end of october.  This document will be uploaded in TISS. This description should not be seen as lecture notes because some chapters are only addressed in the slides. It provides additional information and tries to clarify the structure of the lecture.

You can ask questions anytime you want, either via email or in the forum of the lecture. If this questions are of general interest I would like to publish the answers in the forum in TISS.

Mode of examination

Written and oral

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

CURRENTLY, NO WRITTEN EXAMS ARE POSSIBLE, PLEASE REGISTER FOR ORAL EXAMS IN TUWEL

ADDITIONAL POSSIBILITIES FOR AN ORAL EXAM WILL BE IN THE MIDDLE AND END OF MARCH. WE WILL ANNOUNCE POSSIBLE DATES IN TIME.

IF YOU HAVE NOT YET REGISTERED IN TISS PLEASE DO SO, SO THAT YOU CAN REGISTER FOR AN EXAM IN TUWEL.

discussion in the lecture; oral or written exam

A written exam will take place in February. Oral exam is possible anytime.  Please contact Prof. Pohl to make an appointment for an oral exam.

 

Exams

DayTimeDateRoomMode of examinationApplication timeApplication modeExam
Tue - 01.02.2022written10.01.2022 10:00 - 10.01.2022 12:00TISSPrüfung

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
02.12.2020 12:00 28.02.2021 23:59

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 645 Data Science
066 935 Media and Human-Centered Computing 1. Semester

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Language

English

193.060 Cognitive Foundations of Visualization
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2020W, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung
  • Format der Abhaltung: Distance Learning

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage psychologische Wahrnehmungstheorien darzustellen, sie zu verstehen, sie kritisch zu reflektieren und sie zu analysieren. Sie kennen verschiedene Visualsierungsmethoden und können ihre Vor- und Nachteile beurteilen. Sie kennen verschiedene Evaluierungsmethoden und wissen, in welchem Kontext sie angewendet werden können. Sie sind außerdem in der Lage, diese Theorien beispielhaft für die Gestaltung von Visualisierungen anzuwenden und Visualisierungen entsprechend zu evaluieren. Sie sind in der Lage, wissenschaftliche Texte zu dem Thema zu beurteilen.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

In dieser Lehrveranstaltung werden psychologische Theorien der menschlichen Wahrnehmung dargestell. Diese Theorien werden kritisch analysisert. Darüber hinaus wird geprüft, inwieweit diese Theorien für die Gestaltung von Visualisierungen relevant sind. Darüber hinaus wird die Gestaltung und Evaluation von Visualisierungen erläutert und dargestellt, welche Methoden verwendet werden könnne, um derartige Visualisierungen zu evaluieren. Es werden beispielhaft Methoden der Informationsvisualisierung beschrieben.

Methoden

In der Lehrveranstaltung werden psychologische Theorien der menschlichen Wahrnehmung präsentiert und gemeinsam mit den Studierenden kritisch diskutiert. Es werden Beispiele erläutert, wie die Theorien praktisch verwendet werden können, um Informationsvisualisierungen gestaltet und evaluiert werden können.

Diese Vorlesung findet online statt. Es wird zwei Termine über Zoom geben, bei denen die Vorlesung kurz besprochen wird und Fragen gestellt werden können (1.Dezember, 14 h, 12.1.2021, 14 h). Es gibt keine anderen online-Termine. Die Folien sind für die Vorbereitung für die Prüfung ausreichend. Allerdings wird es zusätzlich Ende Oktober eine ausführlichere schriftliche Beschreibung mancher Kapitel, die in der Vorlesung behandelt werden, geben (in TISS). Diese Beschreibung stellt aber kein Skriptum dar, da manche Themen in den Folien erschöpfend behandelt werden. 

Sie können jederzeit per email oder im TISS-Forum Fragen an mich stellen. Wenn die Fragen Dinge betreffen, die auch für andere Studierende von Interesse sind, möchte ich sie gern im Forum veröffentlichen.

 

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich und Mündlich

Vortragende

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Diskussion in der Lehrveranstaltung; schriftliche oder mündliche Prüfung

Der Termin der schriftlichen Prüfung ist im Februar. Mündliche Prüfung ist jederzeit online möglich.

Prüfungen

TagZeitDatumOrtPrüfungsmodusAnmeldefristAnmeldungPrüfung
Di.13:00 - 15:0002.02.2021HS 11 Paul Ludwik schriftlich11.01.2021 10:00 - 29.01.2021 12:00in TISSPruefung

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 645 Data Science
066 935 Media and Human-Centered Computing 1. Semester

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Sprache

Englisch