193.058 Seminar Media and Human-Centered Computing
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2020S, SE, 2.0h, 3.0EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: SE Seminar

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to...

  • independently research scientific literature in the field of Media and Human-Centered Computing and to critically deal with it
  • write a simple scientific paper that complies with the rules of academic practice
  • summarize the findings of their literary work in a presentation and to discuss them in a peer group

Subject of course

Seminar on selected topics in the area of Media and Human-Centered Computing. Students are instructed to research relevant literature, read and discuss scientific literature critically, present scientific information in writing and speech. The thematic fields for the summer semester 2020 will be announced at the preliminary meeting.

Teaching methods

In the course of the seminar and through individual monitoring, students will be familiarized with the procedure of literature research, critical assessment and follow-up work by writing a seminar paper. Although approaches will depend on the selected topic of the paper, students should focus on scientific literature in English. The students receive feedback on an intermediate version of their work. Another important aspect of this seminar will be the practicing of students' presentation skills, as there is individual feedback given after the final presentations.

Mode of examination

Written and oral

Additional information

Preliminary meeting: Thursday, March 12th 2020, 8-10 am, seminar room FAV 01 C (Favoritenstrasse 9-11, 1st floor, staircase 4), attendance is mandatory. The final presentations are expected to be held on Tuesday June 16th 2020. The exact timing will be announced when the number of participants is known. Further dates will be announced in this first meeting.

This course represents 3 ECTS (= 75 hours) and approximately 12 hours of these require compulsory attendance (for the final presentations, preliminary meeting, etc.).  The remaining hours are intended for the creation and completion of your written paper and presentation slides as well as individual supervision (including feedback on the seminar papers and presentations).

 

Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: Directive concerning the handling of plagiarism (PDF)

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Thu08:00 - 10:0012.03.2020Seminarraum FAV 01 C (Seminarraum 188/2) Prelecture Meeting

Examination modalities

  • Grading of a written seminar paper
  • Assessment of scientific presentation
  • Participation in discussions

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
20.02.2020 12:00 16.03.2020 23:59 16.03.2020 23:59

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 935 Media and Human-Centered Computing 1. Semester

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

In order to attend this seminar, a Bachelor's degree is a prerequisite as well as a working knowledge of the concepts covered in the seminar "Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten" or any equivalent course. In order to refresh your knowledge of these concepts, students are encouraged to review the documentation available on http://www.cg.tuwien.ac.at/courses/gma/nachlese.html  before starting the seminar work.

Language

English

193.058 Seminar Media and Human-Centered Computing
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2020S, SE, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: SE Seminar

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage

  • wissenschaftliche Literatur im Bereich Media and Human-Centered Computing selbständig zu recherchieren und sich kritisch damit auseinanderzusetzen
  • eine einfache wissenschaftliche Arbeit, die den Regeln der akademischen Praxis entspricht, zu verfassen
  • die Erkenntnisse ihrer Literaturarbeit in einem Vortrag zusammenzufassen, im KollegInnenkreis vorzutragen und zu diskutieren

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Seminar zu ausgewählten Themen aus dem Bereich Media and Human-Centered Computing. Studierende werden dazu angehalten, relevante Literatur zu recherchieren und zu lesen, sich mit ihr kritisch auseinanderzusetzen und wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse sowohl schriftlich festzuhalten als auch mündlich zu präsentieren. Die Themenschwerpunkte für das SS 2020 werden bei der Vorbesprechung bekannt gegeben.

Methoden

Im Rahmen des Seminars wird durch individuelle Betreuung der/die Studierende angeleitet, sich mit den einzelnen Schritten der Literaturrecherche, kritischen Aufarbeitung und nachfolgenden Aufbereitung der Inhalte in Form einer schriftlichen Seminararbeit vertraut zu machen. In Abhängigkeit vom gewählten Thema liegt häufig ein Schwerpunkt auf englischsprachiger Literatur. Im Rahmen der Zwischenabgabe erhalten die Studierenden ein Feedback zu ihrer bisherigen Arbeit. Ein weiterer wichtiger Bestandteil des Seminars ist das Training von "Presentation Skills", zu denen beim Abschlussvortrag individuelles Feedback gegeben wird.

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich und Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Vorbesprechung: Donnerstag, 12.03.2020, 08:00 - 10:00, Seminarraum FAV 01C (Favoritenstrasse 9-11, 1. Stock, Stiege 4). Die Abschlusspraesentationen finden voraussichtlich am Dienstag 16.06.2020 statt. Die genaue Zeiteinteilung wird bekanntgegeben, sobald die Teilnehmerzahl feststeht. Weitere Termine werden in der Vorbesprechung bekanntgegeben.

Die Lehrveranstaltung entspricht 3 ECTS (=75 Stunden), wobei ca. 12 Stunden mit Anwesenheitspflicht (Endpräsentationen, Vorbesprechung, etc.) verbunden sind. Die restlichen Stunden sind für die Erarbeitung der schriftlichen Arbeit und der Präsentationsfolien sowie individuelle Gespräche mit der Betreuung, inklusive Feedback zu den Seminararbeiten und Vorträgen, vorgesehen.

 

Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: https://www.tuwien.at/fileadmin/Assets/dienstleister/Datenschutz_und_Dokumentenmanagement/Lehre_-_Leitfaden_zum_Umgang_mit_Plagiaten.pdf

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Do.08:00 - 10:0012.03.2020Seminarraum FAV 01 C (Seminarraum 188/2) Vorbesprechung

Leistungsnachweis

  • Benotung der schriftlichen Seminararbeit
  • Bewertung der wissenschaftlichen Präsentation
  • Teilnahme an Diskussionen

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
20.02.2020 12:00 16.03.2020 23:59 16.03.2020 23:59

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 935 Media and Human-Centered Computing 1. Semester

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

Grundvoraussetzung für die Teilnahme an der Lehrveranstaltung ist der Abschluss eines Bakkalaureatsstudiums sowie Kenntnisse wie sie im Seminar Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten (oder äquivalente Lehrveranstaltung) vermittelt werden. Zur Auffrischung der dort vermittelten Inhalte wird den Studierenden empfohlen, vor Beginn der Seminararbeit die Unterlagen auf http://www.cg.tuwien.ac.at/courses/gma/nachlese.html (nochmals) durchzulesen.

Sprache

Englisch