188.179 PhD Seminar

2019W, SE, 2.0h, 2.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 2.0
  • Type: SE Seminar

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to successfully present and defend their own scientific work. In the course of the seminar, topics of the individual students are presented and discussed in order to support the participants in their research projects as well as to give them an opportunity to network and exchange ideas.

 

 

 

 

Subject of course

This seminar for doctoral students focuses on the presentation and discussion of research work. Contents are defined in individual consultation with the PhD supervisors. In the context of the seminar, the students are invited to train their presentation skills for conference talks and are offered feedback from their peers. All presentations are held in English.

Teaching methods

During this seminar, the research topics of the individual doctoral students are presented and discussed, with the goal to support the participants in their research and networking activities. The students receive feedback on their test talks as preparation of their conference  presentations.

Mode of examination

Written and oral

Additional information

The course corresponds to 2 ECTS (= 50 hours workload) whereof approximately 20 hours will be dedicated to the research and editing of literature (usually from the students' research area). 20 hours are allocated to the final presentation including preparation as well as for visits from peer's talks with active participation in the following discussion. Yet another 10 hours are scheduled for individual meetings with the supervisor and counseling.

The seminar addresses doctoral students in an early stage of their publication's activity.


Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: https://www.tuwien.at/fileadmin/Assets/dienstleister/Datenschutz_und_Dokumentenmanagement/Plagiarism.pdf

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

Assessment of the presentation, contributions to discussions

Course registration

Registration modalities:

Bitte in die Sprechstunde kommen oder Kontakt per e-mail

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
No records found.

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

In order to attend the seminar, students have to be admitted to a doctoral program at TU Wien.

 

Language

English

188.179 Seminar für Dissertant/inn/en

2019W, SE, 2.0h, 2.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 2.0
  • Typ: SE Seminar

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, die Inhalte ihrer eigenen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit zu präsentieren und zu verteidigen. Im Verlauf des Seminars werden Themenbereiche der einzelnen Studierenden vorgestellt und diskutiert, um die TeilnehmerInnen in ihren Forschungsvorhaben so gut wie möglich zu unterstützen und zu vernetzen.

 

 

 

 

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Dieses begleitende Seminar für Doktoratsstudierende konzentriert sich auf die Präsentation und Diskussion von Forschungsarbeiten. Die Inhalte werden in individueller Abstimmung mit den Dissertationsbetreuern festgelegt. Im Rahmen des Seminars wird inbesondere auch die Möglichkeit zu Testvorträgen für Konferenzvorträge gegeben, wobei dem Feedback aus dem KollegInnenkreis besonderes Augenmerk zukommt. Die Vorträge werden in englischer Sprache gehalten.

Methoden

Im Verlauf des Seminars werden Themenbereiche der einzelnen Studierenden vorgestellt und diskutiert, um die TeilnehmerInnen in ihren Forschungsvorhaben so gut wie möglich zu unterstützen und zu vernetzen. Durch Feedback zu Probevorträgen erhalten die DissertantInnen gezielte Unterstützung bei der Vorbereitung von Konferenzvorträgen.

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich und Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Die Lehrveranstaltung entspricht 2 ECTS (=50 Stunden). Dabei werden circa 20 Stunden für die Suche und Aufbereitung der Literatur  (üblicherweise aus dem eigenen Forschungsgebiet) veranschlagt. 20 Stunden sind für die Vorbereitung und Abhaltung des Vortrags sowie den Besuch von Vorträgen anderer KollegInnen mit aktiver Teilnahme an der Diskussion vorgesehen. Weitere 10 Stunden stehen für individuelle Betreuung und Besprechungen zur Verfügung.

Die Zielgruppe sind Doktoratsstudierende in einer frühen Phase ihrer Publikationstätigkeit.


Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: https://www.tuwien.at/fileadmin/Assets/dienstleister/Datenschutz_und_Dokumentenmanagement/Lehre_-_Leitfaden_zum_Umgang_mit_Plagiaten.pdf

Vortragende

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Beurteilung der Präsentation, Diskussionsbeiträge

LVA-Anmeldung

Anmeldemodalitäten:

Bitte in die Sprechstunde kommen oder Kontakt per e-mail

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
No records found.

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

Voraussetzung ist die Zulassung zum Doktoratsstudium an der TU Wien.

Sprache

Englisch