188.147 Diploma Students Seminar
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019W, SE, 2.0h, 3.0EC, to be held in blocked form

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: SE Seminar

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to present the topic of their diploma thesis in adequeate depth as well as breadth. They are able to formulate and answer research questions as well as to discuss critical issues related to the topic of interest.

Subject of course

Seminar on selected topics related to currently running diploma theses.

Teaching methods

In the course of the seminar and through individual monitoring, students will be familiarized with the procedure of literature research, critical assessment and follow-up work by writing a seminar paper. Although approaches will depend on the selected topic of the paper, students should focus on scientific literature in English. Another important aspect of this seminar will be the practicing of students' presentation skills.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: https://www.tuwien.at/fileadmin/Assets/dienstleister/Datenschutz_und_Dokumentenmanagement/Plagiarism.pdf

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

Students are graded based on their literature selection, seminar paper and presentation.

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Literature

http://www.ims.tuwien.ac.at/teaching/

Previous knowledge

Accompanying seminar for diploma students. In the course of the master thesis 2 presentations will be held. The first presentation is used to present the subject of the master thesis. The second presentation represents the closure of the master thesis - the invitation for the presentation will be send to a wider audience.

Language

German

188.147 Seminar für DiplomandInnen
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019W, SE, 2.0h, 3.0EC, wird geblockt abgehalten

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: SE Seminar

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage, ihr Diplomarbeitsthema umfassend, d.h. in der nötigen Tiefe und Breite, zu präsentieren, Forschungsfragen herauszuarbeiten und kritische Fragestellungen zu diskutieren.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Seminar zu ausgewählten Themen derzeit laufender Diplomarbeiten.

Methoden

Im Rahmen des Seminars wird durch individuelle Betreuung der/die Studierende angeleitet, sich mit den einzelnen Schritten der Literaturrecherche, kritischen Aufarbeitung und nachfolgenden Aufbereitung der Inhalte in Form einer schriftlichen Seminararbeit vertraut zu machen. In Abhängigkeit vom gewählten Thema liegt häufig ein Schwerpunkt auf englischsprachiger Literatur. Ein weiterer wichtiger Bestandteil des Seminars ist das Training von "Presentation Skills" im Rahmen des Seminarvortrags.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: https://www.tuwien.at/fileadmin/Assets/dienstleister/Datenschutz_und_Dokumentenmanagement/Lehre_-_Leitfaden_zum_Umgang_mit_Plagiaten.pdf

Vortragende

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Studierende werden aufgrund ihrer Literaturauswahl, Ausarbeitung und Präsentation beurteilt.

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

Literatur

http://www.ims.tuwien.ac.at/teaching/

Vorkenntnisse

Begleitendes Seminar für DiplomandInnen. Im Rahmen der Diplomarbeit werden 2 Vorträge gehalten. Der erste Vortrag dient der Vorstellung des Themas der Diplomarbeit. Der zweite Vortrag bildet den Abschluss der Diplomarbeit - die Einladung dazu wird an einen größeren Kreis ausgesendet.

Sprache

Deutsch