182.759 Scientific Project Computer Engineering
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019S, PR, 1.0h, 6.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 1.0
  • Credits: 6.0
  • Type: PR Project

Aim of course

This course permits first steps in own scientific work on selected topics of computer engineering. Based upon a (typically self-assigned) publications on some suitable topic in this field, a short paper shall be written and presented during the semester. In addition, the course is also an excellent opportunity to get in touch with our research projects and establishes a solid basis for related diploma thesises and dissertations.

Subject of course

Possible topics (selection): Hybrid failure models, partially synchronous system models, self-stabilizing distributed algorithms; real-time scheduling, topology control and routing in dependable wireless networks; diverse limitations of the synchronous design paradigm, metastability and synchronizers, asynchronous design styles, delay models, testing and fault tolerance for asynchronous logic, self-healing circuits. An overview of current computer engineering research topics and potential supervisors at the contributing institutes/working groups is provided in the TI research presentations (http://ti.tuwien.ac.at/teaching/ti-research-presentations).

Additional information

Particularly recommended if participation in the ECS group's research projects is considered.

ECTS breakdown

35h ... literature study
90h ... work on own paper
25h ... preparation and presentation of own talk
----------------------
150h ... gesamt

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

Assessment of the written scientific paper + presentation.

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 938 Computer Engineering

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

Basic knowledge in one relevant field of computer engineering (preferably fault-tolerant distributed algorithms, real-time scheduling, wireless networks, digital design, formal specification and verification); basic knowledge and interest in scientific work.

Miscellaneous

Language

if required in English

182.759 Scientific Project in Technischer Informatik
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019S, PR, 1.0h, 6.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 1.0
  • ECTS: 6.0
  • Typ: PR Projekt

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist ersten eigenen Schritten auf dem Gebiet der wissenschaftlichen Forschung in ausgewählten Bereichen der Technischen Informatik gewidmet. Auf der Basis von (üblicherweise selbstgewählten) Publikationen zu einem geeigneten Thema soll eine eigenständige Arbeit verfaßt und im Rahmen der LVA präsentiert werden. Die LVA bietet eine sehr effiziente Möglichkeit, unsere Forschungsprojekte kennenzulernen und später im Rahmen von Diplomarbeiten oder Dissertationen daran mitzuwirken.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Mögliche Themenbereiche (Auswahl): Hybride Fehlermodelle, Partiell synchrone Systemmodelle, selbststabilisierende verteilte Algorithmen; Real-Time Scheduling, Topology control und Routing in Dependable Wireless Networks; diverse Grenzen des synchronen Design-Paradigmas, Metastabilität und Synchronizer, asynchrone Designmethoden, Delaymodelle, Testing und Fehlermodelle für asynchrone Logik, selbstheilende Schaltungen. Eine Übersicht über aktuelle Forschungsthemen und potentielle Betreuer im Bereich Technische Informatik an den einschlägigen Instituten/Arbeitsbereichen bieten die TI Research Presentations (http://ti.tuwien.ac.at/teaching/ti-research-presentations).

Weitere Informationen

Besonders empfehlenswert, wenn ein Nahverhältnis zum Arbeitsbereich ECS und seinen Forschungsprojekten gesucht wird.

ECTS breakdown

35h ... Literaturstudium
90h ... Arbeit am eigenen Paper
25h ... Vorbereiten und Abhalten der eigenen Präsentation
----------------------
150h ... gesamt

Vortragende

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Beurteilung der Ausarbeitung der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit + Vortrag.

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 938 Technische Informatik

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

Grundlagenwissen in einem Gebiet der Technischen Informatik (vorzugsweise verteilte fehlertolerante Algorithmen, Real-Time Scheduling, drahtlose Netzwerke, digitales Design, Formale Spezifikation und Verifikation); Grundlagenwissen und Interesse an wissenschaftlicher Arbeit.

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

bei Bedarf in Englisch