182.702 Distributed Algorithms
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019S, VU, 4.0h, 6.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 4.0
  • Credits: 6.0
  • Type: VU Lecture and Exercise

Aim of course

Fault-tolerant distributed algorithms are at the heart of any distributed system for critical applications and implement low-level services like clock synchronization, group membership and consensus. Suitable algorithms must work as specified in the presence of the inherent uncertainty in network- or shared-memory coupled distributed systems, which is caused by varying/unknown communication delays and computing speeds and, in particular, subsystem failures. Due to combinatorial explosion, it is often impossible to verify the correct operation of such algorithms by means of model checking (or exhaustive testing). Correctness proofs based on formal-mathematical modelling are the only feasible alternative here. This theoretical graduate-level basic course provides an introduction to distributed algorithms and their formal-mathematical analysis. Apart from developing formal-mathematical skills in general, this course shall allow its attendees to: (1) become familiar with fundamental models, problems, algorithms, lower bound and impossibility results, and proof techniques in distributed computing, (2) be able to apply lower bounds and impossibility results learned to new situations where appropriate, (3) be able to design new distributed algorithms for new situations, using the algorithms and techniques learned as building blocks, and (4) find new lower bounds and impossibility results.

The course is organized in the "anglo-american style", which is based on continuous engagement during the whole semester: Several quizzes and homework assignments ensure (1) that the topics taught in the lecture are efficiently acquired, and (2) that the individual formal-mathematical problem-solving skills are trained. The homework assignments are treated in "mini conferences" (LaTeX solutions, reviewing, presentation in class), such that (3) these scientific soft skills are trained "hands-on" as well.

Subject of course

Basics: Execution runs, safety and liveness properties, causality and time; Models: Message passing vs. shared memory, synchronous vs. asynchronous, failure models; Algorithms: Leader election, mutual exclusion, clock synchronization, consensus, distributed snapshots; Proof techniques: Impossibility proofs, lower bounds, simulation, indistinguishability, bivalence.

Additional information

All who want to participate in the course in the next summer term: Please subscribe to the TISS LVA-Forum & News already before the semester holidays. [Enrolling (via myTI) is only possible when the course has already started (and the admission criteria are met).]

ECTS breakdown (6 ECTS = 150 hours):

 30h             Lecture time
   4.5h          6 Quizzes
 12h             4 Homework presentations
 18h             Preparation time for 6 Quizzes
 85.5h          Preparation time for 4 Homework-Assignments  (3-5 exercises each): First and final version (in LaTeX); reviewing.

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Fri08:00 - 11:0001.03.2019 - 28.06.2019EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu08:00 - 10:0007.03.2019 - 27.06.2019EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Distributed Algorithms - Single appointments
DayDateTimeLocationDescription
Fri01.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu07.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri08.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu14.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri15.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu21.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri22.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu28.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri29.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu04.04.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri05.04.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu11.04.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri12.04.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu02.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri03.05.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu09.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri10.05.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu16.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fri17.05.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Thu23.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID

Examination modalities

Solution and presentation of homework assignments + written tests + written exam

Course registration

Registration modalities:

After second quiz (via myTI)

Curricula

Literature

Textbook: Hagit Attiya, Jennifer Welch. Distributed Computing: Fundamentals, Simulations and Advanced Topics (2nd ed.), John Wiley and Sons, 2004. ISBN 0-471-45324-2

Previous knowledge

Familiarity with the analysis of sequential algorithms and elementary discrete mathematics; reasonable skills in devising mathematical proofs. Some background in distributed systems and fault-tolerant systems is helpful but not required. Familiarity with the basics of scientific working (LaTeX, reviewing).

Preceding courses

Miscellaneous

Language

if required in English

182.702 Distributed Algorithms
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019S, VU, 4.0h, 6.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 4.0
  • ECTS: 6.0
  • Typ: VU Vorlesung mit Übung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

Fehlertolerante verteilte Algorithmen sind das Herzstück jedes verteilten Computersystems für kritische Anwendungen und implementieren grundlegende Services wie Uhrensynchronisation, Group Membership und Consensus. Derartige Algorithmen müssen ihre Spezifikation trotz der inhärenten Unsicherheit erfüllen, die in netzwerk- oder shared-memory-gekoppelten verteilten Systemen unvermeidbar ist. Quellen dieser Unsicherheit sind variable/unbekannte Ausführungs- und Nachrichtenübertragungszeiten und, insbesondere, Fehler von Subsystemen. Die daraus resultierende kombinatorische Explosion macht es in vielen Fällen unmöglich, die korrekte Operation solcher Algorithmen durch Model Checking (oder gar erschöpfendes Testing) zu verifizieren. Korrektheitsbeweise basierend auf einer geeigneten formal-mathematischen Modellierung stellen hier die einzig taugliche Alternative dar. Diese Master-level Basis-LVA bietet eine Einführung in verteilte Algorithmen und deren formal-mathematische Analyse. Neben der generellen Entwicklung formal-mathematischer Fertigkeiten soll sie es ihren Absolventen erlauben, (1) Modelle, Probleme, Algorithmen, Lower-Bounds, Impossibility-Resultate und Korrektheitsbeweise im Bereich Distributed Computing zu verstehen, (2) existierende Lower-Bounds und Impossibility-Resultate in neuen Situationen anzuwenden, (3) auf Basis der erlernten Algorithmen und Techniken neue verteilte Algorithmen für spezielle Problemstellungen zu entwickeln und deren Korrektheit zu beweisen, und (4) neue Lower-Bounds und Impossibility-Resultate zu finden.

Die LVA wird im "angloamerikanischen Modus" abgehalten, der auf kontinuierlicher Beschäftigung mit den Inhalten während des gesamten Semesters basiert: Mehrere Quizzes und Homework-Assignments stellen sicher, dass (1) die in Vorlesung vermittelten Inhalte effizient erlernt und (2) die individuelle Problemlösungskompetenz im formal-mathematischen Bereich entwickelt werden. Die Homework-Assignments werden in Form von "Mini-Konferenzen" (LaTex Ausarbeitung, Reviewing, Lösungspräsentation) abgewickelt, wodurch (3) auch die entsprechenden wissenschaftlichen Soft-Skills "hands-on" trainiert werden.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Grundlagen: Execution runs, safety and liveness properties, causality and time; Modelle: Message passing vs. shared memory, synchronous vs. asynchronous, failure models; Algorithmen: Leader election, mutual exclusion, clock synchronization, consensus, distributed snapshots; Beweistechniken: Impossibility proofs, lower bounds, simulation, indistinguishability, bivalence.

Weitere Informationen

Alle, die die LVA im nächsten SS besuchen möchten: Bitte die LVA im TISS LVA-Forum & News noch vor den Semesterferien abonnieren. [Die eigentliche LVA-Anmeldung (via myTI) ist erst nach Semesterbeginn (und Erfüllung der Zulassungsbedingungen) möglich.]

ECTS-Breakdown (6 ECTS = 150 Stunden):

 30h             Lecture time
   4.5h          6 Quizzes
 12h             4 Homework-Präsentationen
 18h             Vorbereitungszeit für 6 Quizzes
 85.5h          Vorbereitungszeit für 4 Homework-Assignments  (jeweils 3-5 Exercises): First and Final Version (in LaTeX); Reviewing.

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Fr.08:00 - 11:0001.03.2019 - 28.06.2019EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.08:00 - 10:0007.03.2019 - 27.06.2019EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Distributed Algorithms - Einzeltermine
TagDatumZeitOrtBeschreibung
Fr.01.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.07.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.08.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.14.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.15.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.21.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.22.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.28.03.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.29.03.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.04.04.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.05.04.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.11.04.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.12.04.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.02.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.03.05.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.09.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.10.05.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.16.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Fr.17.05.201908:00 - 11:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID
Do.23.05.201908:00 - 10:00EI 10 Fritz Paschke HS SCHMID

Leistungsnachweis

Lösung und Präsentation von Übungsbeispielen + schriftliche Tests + schriftliche Prüfung

LVA-Anmeldung

Anmeldemodalitäten:

Nach 2. Quiz (via myTI)

Curricula

Literatur

Textbook: Hagit Attiya, Jennifer Welch. Distributed Computing: Fundamentals, Simulations and Advanced Topics (2nd ed.), John Wiley and Sons, 2004. ISBN 0-471-45324-2

Vorkenntnisse

Vertrautheit mit der Analyse von sequentiellen Algorithmen und elementarer diskreter Mathematik; ausreichende Fertigkeiten bei der Erstellung mathematischer Beweise. Hintergrundwissen über verteilte Systeme und fehlertolerante Systeme ist hilfreich, aber nicht notwendig. Vertrautheit mit den Grundlagen wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens (LaTeX, reviewing).

Vorausgehende Lehrveranstaltungen

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

bei Bedarf in Englisch