182.086 Real-Time Scheduling
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019S, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VU Lecture and Exercise

Aim of course

Real-time scheduling, i.e., determining the sequence of execution of tasks with deadlines, is a central problem in critical embedded systems. Their design must ensure that the timing constraints imposed by the surrounding physical system can be guaranteed. The (inherentily complex) worst-case response time and feasibility analysis of tasks under scheduling algorithms like earliest deadline first is hence of great importance. This graduate-level optional course provides an introduction into theory and mathematical analysis of scheduling algorithms for real-time systems. It allows its attendees to: (1) become familiar with task models, scheduling algorithms, feasibility and optimality results and associated proof techniques, (2) be able to apply existing results in new situations, (3) be able to devise and analyze new scheduling algorithms for special purposes.

The course is organized in the "anglo-american style", which is based on continuous engagement during the whole semester: Quizzes and homework assignments ensure (1) that the topics taught in the lecture are efficiently acquired, and (2) that the individual analytic problem-solving skills are trained.

Subject of course

Earliest Deadline First (EDF) scheduling: Optimality and complexity analysis, feasibility analysis, response time analysis, competitive analysis under overloads, EDF scheduling with shared resources and precedence constraints.

Additional information

ECTS-Breakdown (3 ECTS = 75 hours):

  24        Lecture time
   2        2-3 Quizzes
   4        2 Homework presentations
   9        Preparation time for 2-3 Quizzes
 36        Preparation time for 2 homework assignments  (2-3 exercises each): Single version (in LaTeX)

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Tue14:15 - 15:4505.03.2019 Library E182/2 (room DE0258), Treitlstraße 1-3, 2nd floorIntroduction

Examination modalities

Quizzes; Solution and presentation of homework assignments; participation in discussions in class

Course registration

Registration modalities:

Ort: in 1. Vorlesung

Curricula

Literature

Textbook: John A. Stankovic, Marco Spuri, Krithi Ramamritham, Giorgio C. Buttazzo: Deadline Scheduling for Real-Time Systems, Kluwer Academic Publishers (now Springer Verlag), 1998, ISBN 0-7923-8269-2

Preceding courses

Miscellaneous

Language

if required in English

Achtung ! Wegen eines Fehlers wird derzeit der Studienbeitragsstatus und somit auch der Fortmeldungsstatus falsch angezeigt. An der Behebung des Fehlers wird gearbeitet. Wir danken für Ihr Verständnis!

182.086 Real-Time Scheduling
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019S, VU, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VU Vorlesung mit Übung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

Real-Time Scheduling, also die Festlegung der Ausführungsreihenfolge von Tasks mit Deadlines, ist ein zentrales Problem in kritischen eingebetteten Systemen. Deren Design muß sicherstellen, daß die vom umgebenden physikalischen System vorgegeben Zeitbedingungen garantiert eingehalten werden. Der (inhärent komplexen) Worst-Case Response Time und Feasibility Analyse von Tasks unter Scheduling-Algorithmen wie Earliest Deadline First kommt daher große Bedeutung zu. Diese Wahl-LVA im Masterstudium bietet eine Einführung in die Theorie und die mathematische Analyse von Scheduling-Algorithmen für Echtzeitsysteme. Sie erlaubt es ihren Absolventen, (1) Task-Modelle, Scheduling-Algorithmen, Feasibility- und Optimalitätsresultate und deren Beweise zu verstehen, (2) existierende Resultate in neuen Situationen anzuwenden, (3) neue Scheduling-Algorithmen für spezielle Problemstellungen zu entwickeln und zu analysieren.

Die LVA wird im "angloamerikanischen Modus" abgehalten, der auf kontinuierlicher Beschäftigung mit den Inhalten während des gesamten Semesters basiert: Quizzes und Homework-Assignments stellen sicher, dass (1) die in Vorlesung vermittelten Inhalte effizient erlernt und (2) die individuelle Problemlösungskompetenz im analytischen Bereich trainiert werden.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Earliest Deadline First (EDF) scheduling: Optimality and complexity analysis, feasibility analysis, response time analysis, competitive analysis under overloads, EDF scheduling with shared resources and precedence constraints.

Weitere Informationen

ECTS-Breakdown (3 ECTS = 75 Stunden):

 24             Lecture time
   2             2-3 Quizzes
   4             2 Homework-Präsentationen
   9             Vorbereitungszeit für 2-3 Quizzes
 36             Vorbereitungszeit für 2 Homework-Assignments  (jeweils 2-3 Exercises): Single Version (in LaTeX)

 

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Di.14:15 - 15:4505.03.2019 Bibliothek E182/2 (Raum DE0258), Treitlstraße 1-3, 2.StockVorbesprechung

Leistungsnachweis

Quizzes; Ausarbeitung und Präsentation von Übungsbeispielen; Teilnahme an der Diskussion in der Vorlesung

LVA-Anmeldung

Anmeldemodalitäten:

Ort: in 1. Vorlesung

Curricula

Literatur

Textbook: John A. Stankovic, Marco Spuri, Krithi Ramamritham, Giorgio C. Buttazzo: Deadline Scheduling for Real-Time Systems, Kluwer Academic Publishers (jetzt Springer Verlag), 1998, ISBN 0-7923-8269-2

Vorausgehende Lehrveranstaltungen

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

bei Bedarf in Englisch