180.778 Seminar for Master Students in Computer Engineering
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2022S, SE, 1.0h, 1.5EC
TUWEL

Properties

  • Semester hours: 1.0
  • Credits: 1.5
  • Type: SE Seminar
  • Format: Hybrid

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to

  • get feedback on the topic and the actual work on a complex topic (Master thesis),
  • present and defend the results of their Master thesis,
  • get inspiration from presentations of other students,
  • get to know students who work on similar topics.

Subject of course

The goal of this course is to additionally support students before and when drafting their Master thesis and preparing for the final defense: Students get feedback from computer engineering professors and other students, and can learn from the presentations of their colleagues. Furthermore, this course facilitates community building in the area of computer engineering and supports students in finding topics for their prospective Master theses and in writing their proposals.

Teaching methods

This course requires solving the following tasks:

  1. Presentation and discussion of the Master thesis proposal (written draft and 10 min talk + 10 min discussion, in German or English). Duly before your presentation, your supervisor must upload a draft of the Diplomarbeitsanmeldung to the webpage of the TI Research Presenations. (external Supervisors are kindly requested to contact Prof. Ulrich Schmid (s@ecs.tuwien.ac.at) for this purpose).The feedback gathered shall help you to shape the particular topic and to submit a convincing Diplomarbeitsanmeldung. IMPORTANT:
    • Please enrol for a proposal presentation in this seminar only after the particular topic of your thesis, the actual scope and the envisioned content are reasonably clear and have been approved by your supervisor!
    • Your supervisor or, in case of unavailability, the co-supervising UAss, must be present during your presentation and in the following discussion, and has to make sure that the feedack is considered appropriately in the final proposal. When uploading the proposal in TISS, the supervisor must certify (in the comment field) that the feedback has been incorporated.
  2. Presentation of the most important results of the Master thesis (20 min + 10 min discussion). The gathered feedback of this "dry run" of your Master thesis presentation shall help you to deliver a good presentation at the official Master thesis defense.

In addition, we offer a few optional introductory lectures (foundations of scientific working, how to participate in scientific communities, how to present a scientific paper).

Students who are still looking out for a suitable topic for their Master thesis are cordially invited to all presentations! The schedule can be found at the web page of the TI Research Presentations.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Additional information

There are several presentation days spread over the semester, consult the web page of the TI Research Presentations for details. To book a slot for your presentations, please contact (in time!) your Master thesis supervisor! Important: Your supervisor needs to upload a draft version of your Master thesis proposal to the above webpage of the TI Research Presentations a few days before your presentation in this seminar, to allow all interested people to inform themselves beforehand, and must be personally (or, if unavailable, substituted by the co-supervising UAss) present during your presentation! Please note also that the proposal must be be submitted to the Studiendekanat for approval (via upload in TISS by the supervisor) only after this presentation.

ECTS Breakdown:

8.5 h Preparation+presentation Master thesis proposal

2.0 Presence at other presentations

27 h Preparation+presentation Master thesis results

 

Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: Directive concerning the handling of plagiarism (PDF)

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Mon13:00 - 15:0014.03.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Student presentations
Thu13:00 - 15:0017.03.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Student presentations
Mon13:00 - 15:0004.04.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Student presentations
Thu13:00 - 15:0007.04.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Students presentations
Mon13:00 - 15:0009.05.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Students presentations
Thu13:00 - 15:0012.05.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Students presentations

Examination modalities

Assessment of the presentations (slides, talks, responses to questions); presence at at least 3 other presentations of Master thesis proposals and 2 completed Master theses.

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
066 938 Computer Engineering

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Language

English

180.778 Seminar für Diplomand_innen für Technische Informatik
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2022S, SE, 1.0h, 1.5EC
TUWEL

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 1.0
  • ECTS: 1.5
  • Typ: SE Seminar
  • Format der Abhaltung: Hybrid

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage,

  • Feedback zur Aufgabenstellung und laufenden Arbeit an einem komplexen Thema (Master-Arbeite) einzuholen
  • die Ergebnisse ihrer Master-Arbeit zu präsentieren und zu verteidigen,
  • Inspiration aus den Präsentationen anderer Studierender zu holen,
  • Studierende kennenzulernen, die an verwandten Themen arbeiten.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Das Ziel dieser Lehrveranstaltung ist es, Studierende vor und während der Erstellung ihrer Master Thesis und bei der Vorbereitung auf die Abschlussprüfung (ergänzend zum Betreuer) zu unterstützen: Studierende erhalten inhaltliches Feedback von Professoren der Technischen Informatik und anderen Studierenden, und können insbesondere von den anderen Vorträgen lernen. Darüberhinaus fördert die Lehrveranstaltung das Community Building im Bereich Technische Informatik und unterstützt Studierende bei der Themenfindung für ihre zukünftige Master Thesis und dem Schreiben des Proposals für die Anmeldung.

Methoden

Im Rahmen der Lehrveranstaltung sind folgende Aufgaben zu erfüllen:

  1. Präsentation und Diskussion des Master Thesis Proposals (schriftliche Erstfassung  sowie 10 min Vortrag + 10 min Diskussion, wahlweise in Deutsch oder Englisch). Rechtzeitig vor der Präsentation muß vom Betreuer der Arbeit ein Draft der Diplomarbeitsanmeldung auf der Webpage der TI Research Presentations hochgeladen werden (externe Betreuer mögen sich dazu an Prof. Ulrich Schmid (s@ecs.tuwien.ac.at) wenden). Das erhaltene Feedback soll Ihnen dabei helfen, die Aufgabenstellung zu präzisieren und eine solide Diplomarbeitsanmeldung einreichen zu können. WICHTIG:
    • Bitte melden Sie sich erst dann für eine Proposal-Präsentation in diesem Seminar an, wenn das konkrete Thema, der konkrete Scope und beabsichtigte Inhalt der Diplomarbeit halbwegs klar sind und vom Betreuer akzeptiert wurde!
    • Der Betreuer oder, bei Verhinderung, der mitbetreuende UAss muß bei der Präsentation und der anschließenden Diskussion anwesend sein und dafür sorgen, daß das Feedback in die finale Version des Proposals in angemessener Weise einfließt. Beim Hochladen des Proposals in TISS durch den Betreuer muß (im Kommentarfeld) bestätigt werden, daß das Feedback eingearbeitet wurde.
  2. Präsentation der wichtigsten Ergebnisse der Master Thesis (20 min + 10 min discussion). Das erhaltene Feedback auf diesen "Probelauf" Ihrer Diplomarbeitspräsentation soll Ihnen dabei helfen, einen guten Vortrag bei der offiziellen  Master Thesis Defense abliefern zu können.

Ergänzend dazu werden einige optionale Einführungsvorträge (Grundlagen wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens, Funktion der Scientific Community, Präsentationstechniken) angeboten.

Studierende, die noch auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Thema für die Master Thesis sind, sind herzlich zu allen Vorträgen eingeladen! Das aktuelle Schedule ist auf der Web Page der TI Research Presentations zu finden.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Weitere Informationen

Über das Semester verteilt gibt es mehrere Präsentationstage, siehe Web Page der TI Research Presentations. Um einen Slot für Ihre Präsentationen zu reservieren, kontaktieren Sie bitte (rechtzeitig!) Ihren Diplomarbeitsbetreuer. Wichtig: Ihr Supervisor muß die Erstfassung des Master Thesis Proposals einige Tage vor Ihrer Präsentation in diesem Seminar auf der obigen Webpage der TI Research Presentations hochladen, damit sich alle Interessierten vorher ein Bild davon machen können, und muß persönlich (oder, bei Verhinderung, vertreten durch den mitbereuenden UAss) bei Ihrer Präsentation anwesend sein! Beachten Sie bitte auch, daß das Proposal erst nach der Präsentation in diesem Seminar im Studiendekanat (Upload durch den Supervisor in TISS) eingereicht werden darf.

ECTS Breakdown:

8.5 h Vorbereitung+Präsentation Master Thesis Proposal

2.0 h Anwesenheit bei anderen Präsentationen

27 h Vorbereitung+Präsentation Master Thesis Ergebnisse

 

Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: Leitfaden zum Umgang mit Plagiaten (PDF)

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mo.13:00 - 15:0014.03.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Präsentationen von Studierenden
Do.13:00 - 15:0017.03.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Präsentationen von Studierenden
Mo.13:00 - 15:0004.04.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Präsentationen von Studierenden
Do.13:00 - 15:0007.04.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Präsentationen von Studierenden
Mo.13:00 - 15:0009.05.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Präsentationen von Studierenden
Do.13:00 - 15:0012.05.2022Seminarraum DE0110 Präsentationen von Studierenden

Leistungsnachweis

Beurteilung der Vorträge (Slides, Präsentationen, Fragenbeantwortung); Anwesenheit bei mindestens 3 Präsentationen anderer Master Thesis Proposals und mindestens 2 fertiger Master-Arbeiten.

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 938 Technische Informatik

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Sprache

Englisch