164.225 Ecology and Sustainable Development
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2019S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VO Lecture

Aim of course

The lecture course presents basic principles of ecology and sustainable development and the high priority issues for the European Union with special emphasis on global development. The students will through this also get an introduction to ecology and environmental sciences.

Subject of course

Content of the different chapters: 1. Ecology and ecosystems: biology and the environment, biological change, flows of energy and matter in ecosystems, biogeographical zones, habitats. 2. Ecosystem functions and human impact: space intrusion and habitat destruction, shrinking biodiversity, eutrophication, acid rain, chemical pollution. 3: Sustainable development as a concept for societal evolution: origin of sustainability thinking, milestones in evolutionary thinking, the policy strategy of the European Union combining economic prosperity, high social standards and strong environmental protection. 4. Major issues for sustainable development in Europe: air pollution and traffic, water quality/quantity and agriculture/tourism, conserving soil and natural vegetation, climate change mitigation and adaptation, social and economic issues (aging population, economic shifts, European competitiveness in a global marketplace ). 5. Major issues for a global sustainable development: overexploitation of natural resources, population growth, poverty, diseases, lack of access to services, food security, industrial pollution in rapidly expanding economies, excessive urbanisation, impact of climate change; economic and social dis-equilibria. 6. Sustainable technologies: Towards a Third Industrial Revolution ? Energy efficient technologies, low carbon electricity generation, global earth observation. 7. Globalisation: concepts, opportunities and risks; winners and losers in a global competition, potential influence and impact of the European Union as a soft global power .

Additional information

The presenter of this lecture course was from 2002 till 2007 Director of the Institute for Environment and Sustainability of the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission in Ispra, Italy. Main task of the institute with 500 staff is to provide scientific advice to the European Commission, who is determining the guiding principles for the European Union and responsible for all legislative initiatives in the area of environment and sustainability. The lecturer has therefore an extensive international experience in respect to the topics presented in the lecture course.

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Wed16:30 - 18:0013.03.2019 - 03.04.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Thu16:30 - 18:0014.03.2019 - 28.03.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ecology and Sustainable Development
Mon16:30 - 18:0001.04.2019 - 08.04.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Thu16:30 - 18:0004.04.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Ecology and Sustainable Development - Single appointments
DayDateTimeLocationDescription
Wed13.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Thu14.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ecology and Sustainable Development
Wed20.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Thu21.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ecology and Sustainable Development
Wed27.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Thu28.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ecology and Sustainable Development
Mon01.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Wed03.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Thu04.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Mon08.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal - TCH Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung

Examination modalities

written

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Literature

Course material (ppt-slides) is available as pdf-files in TISS and can be downloaded by all registered participants of the course (status of an observer "Beobachter" of the course) .No access code necessary.

Previous knowledge

grasserThis lecture course is part of the catalogue of "soft-skills" courses offered by the Vienna University of Technology. Essential basic knowledge to follow this course are fundamentals of technical sciences as taught in the first 2 semesters in all curricula. Attendance is therefore possible for students of all disciplines offered at the Vienna University of Technology.

Language

English

164.225 Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2019S, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

Diese Vorlesung soll Kenntnisse über die Grundprinzipen der Ökologie und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung sowie die Schwerpunkte einer Nachhaltigkeitspolitik in der Europäischen Union unter besonderer Berücksichtigung globaler Entwicklungen vermitteln. Die StudentInnen erhalten damit auch eine Einführung in Ökologie und Umweltwissenschaften.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Thematische Schwerpunkte: 1. Ökologie und Ökosysteme: Biologie und Umwelt, biologische Veränderungen, Energie- und Stoff-Flüsse, bio-geographische Zonen, Habitate. 2. Funktionsweise der Ökosysteme: Veränderungsprozesse und Habitatzerstörung, Biodiversität, Eutrophierung, saurer Regen, Umweltverschmutzung. 3: Nachhaltigkeit als Konzept: Entwicklung des Konzeptes, politische Strategie der EU mit den Säulen ökonomischer Wohlstand, hohe Sozialstandards und hohe Umweltqualität. 4. Kernfragen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung Europas: Luftverschmutzung und Verkehr, Wasserqualität bzw. quantität und Landwirtschaft/Tourismus, Schutz der Böden und der natürlichen Vegetation, Klimawandel (Vermeidung und Adaptierung), soziale und wirtschaftliche Entwicklungen (alternde Bevölkerung, ökonomische Verwerfungen, Wettbewerbsfähigkeit in einer globalen Wirtschaft .). 5. Kernfragen einer globalen nachhaltigen Entwicklung: übermäßige Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen, Bevölkerungswachstum, Krankheiten, mangelhafte Infrastruktur, Nahrungsmittelsicherheit, extreme Umweltverschmutzung in den Tigerstaaten , exzessive Urbanisation, Verwundbarkeit gegenüber globaler Erwärmung, wirtschaftliche und soziale Ungleichgewichte. 6. Nachhaltige Technologien: Brauchen wir eine Dritte Industrielle Revolution ? Energie-effiziente Technologien, Low-Carbon-Technologies zur Elektrizitätsgewinnung, Globale Erdbeobachtung. 7. Globalisierung: Konzepte, Chance und Risiken, Gewinner und Verlierer in der Globalisierung, möglicher Einfluss der Europäischen Union und Rolle als soft global power.

Weitere Informationen

Der Vortragende leitete in den Jahren 2002 - 2007 das Institut für Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit des Joint Research Centre der Europäischen Kommission in Ispra, Italien. Die Hauptaufgabe dieses Institutes mit 500 Mitarbeitern ist die wissenschaftliche Beratung der Europäischen Kommission, welche das politische Leitbild der Europäischen Union vorgibt und für alle gesetzlichen Initiativen im Bereich Umwelt und Nachhaltigkeit verantwortlich ist. Der Vortragende verfügt daher über eine ausgeprägte internationale Erfahrung auf den in der Vorlesung behandelten Themen.

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mi.16:30 - 18:0013.03.2019 - 03.04.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Do.16:30 - 18:0014.03.2019 - 28.03.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Mo.16:30 - 18:0001.04.2019 - 08.04.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Do.16:30 - 18:0004.04.2019GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung - Einzeltermine
TagDatumZeitOrtBeschreibung
Mi.13.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Do.14.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Mi.20.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Do.21.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Mi.27.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Do.28.03.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Mo.01.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Mi.03.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Do.04.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung
Mo.08.04.201916:30 - 18:00GM 2 Radinger Hörsaal Ökologie und nachhaltige Entwicklung

Leistungsnachweis

schriftlich

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

Literatur

Vorlesungsunterlagen (ppt-Folien) sind als pdf-files in TISS bereitgestellt und können von allen Studierenden, die sich für die Vorlesung angemeldet haben und damit den Status eines "Beobachters" haben, heruntergeladen werden. Kein Zugangscode erforderlich.

Vorkenntnisse

Die Vorlesung ist Teil des "Soft-Skills" Lehrkatalog der TU Wien. Basis für eine sinnvolle Teilnahme sind technisch-wissenschaftliche Grundkenntnisse wie sie in den ersten beiden Semestern eines Studiums an der TU Wien erworben werden. Die Teilnahme ist somit für die Studenten aller Studienrichtungen möglich.

Sprache

Englisch