163.172 ...
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2018W, LU, 1.0h, 1.0EC

Properties

  • Semester hours: 1.0
  • Credits: 1.0
  • Type: LU Laboratory Exercise

Aim of course

This optional extension to the LU Orientation course for the beginners in Technical Chemistry I (LVA-Nr. 163.173) is part of the measures according to a quality management in the beginning phase of study to support the student's self-orientation.

The practical exercises take place on the following day after the LU Orientation course for the beginners in Technical Chemistry I (LVA-Nr. 163.173), i.e. on 3rd October 2018.

Certificates are issued together with the LU Orientation course for the beginners in Technical Chemistry I (LVA-Nr. 163.173) only after participation in a second run of the E-ChemTest at the end of the summer term 2019 (last week in June 2019, details will be announced).

Subject of course

To give a rough overview of the band-width of the bacchelor study "Technische Chemie" the students will attend 1 further day (as optional extension to LU Orientation course for the beginners in Technical Chemistry I) 8 hours lab exercises in hands-on experimental work under intense supervision of tutors and assistents. The exercises comprise of those experiments in synthetic chemistry, analytical chemistry, physical chemistry and biochemistry, which have not yet been done the previous day.

Additional information

The participation at the practical exercises on 3. October 2018 is only allowed for the participants of the E-ChemTest!

The 4 topics of the lab course of the will cover the following exercises: 1) synthetic chemistry (synthesis of an azo-dye, performance of a polyamide condensation, esterification) 2) analytical chemistry (characterisation of wine: titration of the total acid content, photometric measurement of the tartaric acid content, thin-layer-chromatography of wine dyes, atomic absorption spectroscopy of the copper content of wine) 3) physical chemistry (determination of the osmotic pressure of sacharose solutions) 4) biochemistry (DNA isolation from E. coli cells and an introduction into methods of bioengineering)

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Tue09:00 - 13:0002.10.2018 students labs1st block lab exercises
Tue14:00 - 18:0002.10.2018 students labs2nd block lab exercises
Wed09:00 - 13:0003.10.2018 students labs3rd block lab exercises
Wed14:00 - 18:0003.10.2018 students labs4th block lab exercises

Examination modalities

Confirmation of participation in the course examination comprises of personal participation and active class participation and hands-on experimental work on 3. October 2018. The certificate will be issued together with the LU Orientation course for the beginners in Technical Chemistry I only after participation at a second run of the E-ChemTest at the end of the following summer term.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
04.09.2018 00:00 30.11.2018 23:59

Registration modalities:

bitte direkt im TISS anmelden

Curricula

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

The practical exercises take place on 3.10. between 09:00 - 13:00 and 14:00 - 18:00 in the following students labs: Synthetic chemistry: students lab BK U1, Physical chemistry: students lab BC O4 H31, Analytical chemistry: students lab BB 05 C01 and C17, Biochemistry: students lab BC O4 H01/H11. For the practical exercises at 3. October 2018 in the labs bring the following items: 1) a white lab coat (compulsary) 2) paper tissue, dish washing detergent, waterresistant ink writer, lighter (recommended); latex gloves

For the exercise in physical chemistry you will need a pocket calculator!

Language

German

163.172 Orientierungslehrveranstaltung Technische Chemie II
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2018W, LU, 1.0h, 1.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 1.0
  • ECTS: 1.0
  • Typ: LU Laborübung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

Diese wahlweise Ergänzung zur LU Orientierungslehrveranstaltung für die Erstsemestrigen der Technischen Chemie I (LVA-Nr. 163.173) ist Teil der Massnahmen im Sinne des Qualitätsmanagements in der Studieneingangsphase als eine Hilfestellung zur Selbstorientierung.

Die praktischen Übungen finden am Folgetag nach der LU Orientierungslehrveranstaltung für die Erstsemestrigen in der Technischen Chemie (LVA-Nr. 163.173), d.h. am 3. Oktober 2018 statt.

Die Zeugnisausstellung erfolgt gemeinsam mit der LU Orientierungslehrveranstaltung für die Erstsemestrigen der Technischen Chemie I (LVA-Nr. 163.173) nach Absolvierung einer zweiten Runde des E-ChemTest am Ende des Sommersemesters 2019 (letzte Juniwoche 2019, Details werden noch bekanntgegeben).

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Um die fachliche Bandbreite im Bakkalaureatsstudium annähernd vorzustellen, werden die Studierenden 1 weiteren Tag (als optionale Ergänzung zur LU Orientierungslehrveranstaltung für die Erstsemestrigen der Technischen Chemie I) 8 Stunden in Laborübungen unter intensiver Betreuung von TutorInnen und AssistentInnen selbst experimentieren, wobei die am Vortag noch nicht durchgeführten Übungen aus dem Bereich der Synthesechemie, der analytischen Chemie, der physikalischen Chemie und der Biochemie absolviert werden.

Weitere Informationen

Die Teilnahme an den praktischen Übungen am 3. Oktober 2018 ist ausschliesslich den AbsolventInnen des E-ChemTests gestattet!

Die 4 Themenschwerpunkte der Laborübungen umfassen folgende Übungsinhalte: 1) Synthesechemie (Herstellung eines Azo-Farbstoffes, Durchführung einer Polyamid-Kondensation, Durchführung einer Veresterung) 2) Analytische Chemie (Charakterisierung von Rotwein: Bestimmung der titrierbaren Gesamtsäure, photometrische Bestimmung des Gehalts an Weinsäure, Dünnschichtchromatographie von Weinfarbstoffen, Atomabsorptionsspektroskopie zur Bestimmung des Kupfergehalts von Wein) 3) Physikalische Chemie (Übungen zur Bestimmung des osmotischen Drucks von Sacharose-Lösungen) 4) Biochemie (DNA-Isolierung aus E. coli Zellen und Vorstellung von Arbeitsweisen der Bio-Verfahrenstechnik).

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Di.09:00 - 13:0002.10.2018 Hörerlabors1.Block Laborübungen
Di.14:00 - 18:0002.10.2018 Hörerlabors2.Block Laborübungen
Mi.09:00 - 13:0003.10.2018 Hörerlabors3.Block Laborübungen
Mi.14:00 - 18:0003.10.2018 Hörerlabors4.Block Laborübungen

Leistungsnachweis

Teilnahmebestätigung immanenter Prüfungscharakter durch persönliche Teilnahme und aktive Mitarbeit in der Labortätigkeit am 3. Oktober 2018. Zeugnisausstellung erfolgt gemeinsam mit der LU Orientierungslehrveranstaltung für die Erstsemestrigen der Technischen Chemie I erst am Semesterende des darauffolgenden Sommersemesters nach Absolvierung eines 2.Durchgangs des E-ChemTest.

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
04.09.2018 00:00 30.11.2018 23:59

Anmeldemodalitäten:

bitte direkt im TISS anmelden

Curricula

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

Die praktischen Übungen finden am 3.10. von 09:00 - 13:00 und 14:00-18:00 in folgenden Hörerlabors statt: Modul Synthesechemie: Hörerlabor BK U1, Modul Physikalische Chemie: Hörerlabor BC 04 H31, Modul Analytische Chemie: Hörerlabor BB 05 C01 und C17, Modul Biochemie: Hörerlabor BC O4 H01/H11. Für die praktischen Übungen am 3. Oktober 2018 im Labor sind folgende Utensilien mitzubringen: 1) ein weisser Labormantel (zwingend vorgeschrieben) 2) Küchenrolle, Geschirrspülmittel, wasserfester Faserschreiber, Feuerzeug (dringend empfohlen); Latexeinweghandschuhe

Für die Übungen der physikalischen Chemie wird ein Taschenrechner benötigt!

Sprache

Deutsch