Please be advised: Due to system maintenance the access module is not available for changes, Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.

142.094 Astro-Particle Physics
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2018W, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC, to be held in blocked form

Properties

  • Semester hours: 2.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: VO Lecture

Aim of course

Introduction into a new, fascinating field of physics: physics from and with cosmic particle accelerators

Subject of course

Introduction to the standard model of particle physics; signals from outer space: discovery; the birth of high-energy physics; composition and spectra of cosmic radiation; overlap with conventional astronomy; primary and secondary cosmic rays; charged particles; photons; neutrinos; gravitational waves; hypothetical particles ("dark matter"); measurement methods of astro-particle physics: Installations on the surface of the earth, on balloons and in outer space; the earth's atmosphere serving as detector for particles; neutrino detectors in the MeV to EeV range; detectors for "dark matter"; large terrestrial installations (in the 10000 square-kilometer range on the earth's surface, as well as installations under water and in the ice of Antarctica); radio emission of highest-energy particles; installations on satellites and in space stations Physics aims of astro-particle physics: Tests of the Standard Model beyond energies that can be reached by accelerators; neutrino oscillations, measurements of properties and mass of neutrinos; search for particles which have not been discovered so far ("dark matter", supersymmetry etc.); CP-violation and antimatter; cosmology, relics of the Big Bang, the origin of the world

Additional information

Target group and conditions of participation: Physicists, astronomers, astro-physicists and colleagues from other disciplines who are interested in astro-particle physics; basic knowledge in particle physics is useful but not required.

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Fri09:00 - 17:0012.10.2018 Inst. of High Energy Physics, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Vienna, 1st floor, "Library"Day 1
Sat09:00 - 17:0013.10.2018 Inst. of High Energy Physics, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Vienna, 1st floor, "Library"Day 2
Fri09:00 - 17:0014.12.2018 Inst. of High Energy Physics, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Vienna, 1st floor, "Library"Day 3
Sat09:00 - 17:0015.12.2018 Inst. of High Energy Physics, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Vienna, 1st floor, "Library"Day 4
Course is held blocked

Examination modalities

oral

Course registration

Not necessary

Curricula

Literature

Lecture notes for this course are available online.

Previous knowledge

Target group and conditions of participation: Physicists, astronomers, astro-physicists and colleagues from other disciplines who are interested in astro-particle physics; basic knowledge in particle physics is useful but not required.

Miscellaneous

Language

English

142.094 Astro-Teilchenphysik
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2018W, VO, 2.0h, 3.0EC, wird geblockt abgehalten

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 2.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: VO Vorlesung

Ziele der Lehrveranstaltung

Einführung in ein neues, faszinierendes Gebiet der Physik: Physik von und mit kosmischen Teilchenbeschleunigern

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Einführung in das Standardmodell der Teilchenphysik: Signale aus dem Kosmos: Entdeckung; Geburtsstunde der Hochenergiephysik; Zusammensetzung und Spektren der kosmischen Strahlung; Überschneidung mit der konventionellen Astronomie; primäre und sekundäre kosmische Strahlung; geladene Teilchen; Photonen; Neutrinos; Gravitationswellen; hypothetische Teilchen ( Dunkle Materie ); Messmethoden der Astro-Teilchenphysik: Anlagen auf der Erdoberfläche, in Ballons und im Weltall; Erdatmosphäre als Teilchendetektor; Neutrino-Detektoren von MeV bis EeV; Detektoren für Dunkle Materie ; terrestrische Großanlagen (im 10000-km^2-Bereich auf der Erdoberfläche, sowie Anlagen im Wasser und im Eis der Antarktis); Radioemission von höchstenergetischen Teilchen; Anlagen in Satelliten und Raumstationen Physik-Ziele der Astro-Teilchenphysik: Test des Standardmodells jenseits von mit Beschleunigern erreichbaren Energien; Neutrino-Oszillationen, Bestimmung der Eigenschaften und Masse von Neutrinos; Suche nach bislang nicht entdeckten Teilchen ( Dunkle Materie , Supersymmetrie u.a.); CP-Verletzung und Antimaterie; Kosmologie, Relikte des Urknalls, Entstehung der Welt

Weitere Informationen

Zielgruppe und Voraussetzungen: Physiker, Astronomen, Astrophysiker und an der Astro-Teilchenphysik interessierte Kollegen aus anderen Fächern; Grundkenntnisse in Teilchenphysik sind zwar vorteilhaft, werden aber nicht vorausgesetzt.

Vortragende

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Fr.09:00 - 17:0012.10.2018 Inst.f.Hochenergiephysik, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Wien, 1. Stock, "Bibliothek"Tag 1
Sa.09:00 - 17:0013.10.2018 Inst.f.Hochenergiephysik, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Wien, 1. Stock, "Bibliothek"Tag 2
Fr.09:00 - 17:0014.12.2018 Inst.f.Hochenergiephysik, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Wien, 1. Stock, "Bibliothek"Tag 3
Sa.09:00 - 17:0015.12.2018 Inst.f.Hochenergiephysik, Nikolsdoferg. 18, 1050 Wien, 1. Stock, "Bibliothek"Tag 4
LVA wird geblockt abgehalten

Leistungsnachweis

mündlich

LVA-Anmeldung

Nicht erforderlich

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 461 Technische Physik
066 461 Technische Physik

Literatur

Ein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung steht online zur Verfügung.

Vorkenntnisse

Zielgruppe und Voraussetzungen: Physiker, Astronomen, Astrophysiker und an der Astro-Teilchenphysik interessierte Kollegen aus anderen Fächern; Grundkenntnisse in Teilchenphysik sind zwar vorteilhaft, werden aber nicht vorausgesetzt.

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

Englisch