141.102 Pre diploma project work
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2021W, PA, 8.0h, 12.0EC

Course evaluation

Properties

  • Semester hours: 8.0
  • Credits: 12.0
  • Type: PA Project
  • Format: Distance Learning

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to explain the physics and the methods of investigation of the topic they have chosen for this project. The work will be mostly experimental but may also contain a theoretical part. A student may choose among the following topics: Fundamental interactions with neutrons, neutron interferometry, quantum physics, physics of solar cells.

Subject of course

Experiments with neutrons, on neutron tomography or neutron interferometry at the TRIGA reactor in Vianna, experimental quantum physics or solar cell physics.

Teaching methods

Work with neutron beams at the research reactor of the Atominstitut. Or at the photovoltaics lab of the TU-Wien Science Center. Conception, design and practical realization of experiments, which may include some programming for control and auomatic data taking. Analysis and theoretical simulation of measurement results. Study of scientific publications (exclusively in English). Write up of the work in the form of a scientific report (may be written in German or English). Possibly a short oral presentation at an internal group meeting.

Mode of examination

Immanent

Lecturers

Institute

Examination modalities

Written summary of the work, which must include all relevant details and the appropriate citations of the used scientitic liturature. It should take the form of a scientific report, which is useful to others.

Course registration

Registration modalities

Atominstitut, Stadionallee 2, A-1020 Wien Ort: telefonisch oder per Email

Curricula

Study CodeSemesterPrecon.Info
810 Technical Physics

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Miscellaneous

Language

German

141.102 Projektarbeit Neutronenphysik
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2021W, PA, 8.0h, 12.0EC

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 8.0
  • ECTS: 12.0
  • Typ: PA Projektarbeit
  • Format der Abhaltung: Distance Learning

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage das bearbeitete Thema, das meist experimenteller Art ist aber auch einen theoretischen Anteil beinhalten kann, in seinen physikalischen Zusammenhängen und den angewendeten Untersuchungsmethoden zu erklären. Themen können aus folgenden Gebieten frei gewählt werden: Fundamentale Wechselwrikungen mit Neutronen, Neutroneninterferometrie, Quantenphysik, Physik der Solarzellen

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Experimente mit Neutronen, an der Neutronentomographie-Station oder am Interferometer-Instrument des TRIGA - Forschungsreaktors am Atominstitut Wien, experimentelle Quantenphysik oder Physik der Solarzelle.

Methoden

Arbeit mit Neutronenstrahlen am Forschungsreaktor des Atominstituts. Oder im Photovoltaiklabor im TU-Wien Science Center.  Konzeption, praktischer Aufbau, evtl. Programmierung und Steuerung, sowie Durchführung von Experimenten. Auswertung und theoretische Simulation von Messergebnissen.Studium wissenschaftlicher Originalarbeiten (ausschliesslich in Englisch). Schriftliche Zusammenfassung der Arbeit in Form einer wissenschaftlichen Abhandlung (Deutsch oder Englisch). Gegebenenfalls auch Präsentation der Arbeit in einem Vortrag innerhalb der Arbeitsgruppe.

Prüfungsmodus

Prüfungsimmanent

Vortragende Personen

Institut

Leistungsnachweis

Schriftlicher Zusammenfassung der Arbeit, mit allen relevanten Details und entsprechenden Literaturzitaten, in Form eines wissenschaftlichen Berichtes, auf den andere zurückgreifen können.

LVA-Anmeldung

Anmeldemodalitäten

Atominstitut, Stadionallee 2, A-1020 Wien Ort: telefonisch oder per Email

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
810 Technische Physik

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Weitere Informationen

Sprache

Deutsch