040.005 Scientific Work: Data Visualisation in Virtual and Augmented Reality
This course is in all assigned curricula part of the STEOP.
This course is in at least 1 assigned curriculum part of the STEOP.

2020W, SE, 3.0h, 3.0EC, to be held in blocked form

Properties

  • Semester hours: 3.0
  • Credits: 3.0
  • Type: SE Seminar
  • Format: Hybrid

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, students are able to visualize 3D data in Virtual- and Augmented Reality.

The skills acquired in Module 1 also enable the participants to use the Data Visualization Lab beyond the scope of the course.

Subject of course

This seminar is addressed to students of all faculties and fields of study who want to learn how to visualize their own research results, designs, analyses and simulations on desktop, but also in augmented and virtual reality. Another key objective of the seminar is to promote interdisciplinary cooperation and to support scientific exchange beyond the boundaries of one's own discipline. The seminar is conducted in German, but support can also be provided in English if required.
The knowledge acquired should ideally serve the participants as a supplement and support for other courses, seminar and master theses or dissertations. However, this is not a precondition for attending the course.
The course also supports the "Smart Campus" project.

Module 1, Introduction:
In an introduction, an overview of visualization technologies and scientific visualization and their applications in practice is given. In the Data Visualization Lab of the TU Library, the possibilities of scientific visualization in virtual reality can be experienced practically. Depending on the interests and professional backgrounds of the participants, these can be data from the disciplines of mechanical engineering, civil engineering, architecture, spatial planning, geoinformation and geosciences, chemistry, physics, medicine, biology and other subject areas.

Module 2, Basics of scientific visualization in VR/AR:
During a practical introduction the participants will be able to learn the basics of 3D desktop visualization with COVISE. In addition, a workshop will be held to discuss how to create interactive 3D models for virtual environments and how augmented reality visualizations can be implemented.
The aim of this module is to enable the participants themselves to create visualizations and to visualize them on end devices ( Display, Head Mounted Display (HMD), Virtual Reality etc.). This knowledge is to be applied in own research and study projects.

Module 3, Bring your own data:
The third module deals with the visualisation of models, analyses and simulations created by the participants themselves as part of their research and student research projects. These are to be presented in the Data Visualization Lab and subsequently optimized in a workshop and further variants are to be discussed.

Teaching methods

Scientific visualisation / virtual and augmented reality (VR and AR) at the Data Visualisation Lab of TU Bibliothek 

Mode of examination

Written and oral

Additional information

Further dates for courses in December (module 2) and January (module 3) will be announced as soon as possible.


Please consider the plagiarism guidelines of TU Wien when writing your seminar paper: Directive concerning the handling of plagiarism (PDF)

Lecturers

Institute

Course dates

DayTimeDateLocationDescription
Wed09:00 - 17:0021.10.2020 TU Bibliothek, Vortragsraum, Resselgasse 4, 5th floorModule 1: Introduction / Day 1
Thu09:00 - 17:0022.10.2020 TU Bibliothek, Vortragsraum, Resselgasse 4, 5th floorModule 1: Introduction / Day 2
Wed09:00 - 18:0009.12.2020 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (Ground Floor)Modul 2 (Zusatztermin): Grundlagen der wissenschaftlichen Visualisierung in VR/AR
Thu09:00 - 18:0010.12.2020 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (Ground Floor)Module 2: Basics of scientific visualization in VR/AR
Wed09:00 - 17:0013.01.2021 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (Ground Floor)Module 3, day 1: Bring your own data
Thu09:00 - 17:0014.01.2021 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (Ground Floor)Module 3, day 2: Bring your own data
Course is held blocked

Examination modalities

Students have to participate in all three modules and have to create a seminar work in Module 3. This work will be interactively presented at the Data Visualization Lab, will be graded and thus serves as performance record.

Course registration

Begin End Deregistration end
14.09.2020 00:00 20.10.2020 00:00 20.10.2020 00:00

Registration modalities:

The modules are conducted in "attendance courses". Should it be necessary for legal health reasons, single modules will be held in online mode. In the latter case, the participants will be notified in good time.

Curricula

Literature

No lecture notes are available.

Previous knowledge

Previous skills in visualisation are not mandatory, but experience with specialised software is beneficial. 

Miscellaneous

  • Attendance Required!

Language

if required in English

040.005 Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten: Datenvisualisierung in VR und AR
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in allen zugeordneten Curricula Teil der STEOP.
Diese Lehrveranstaltung ist in mindestens einem zugeordneten Curriculum Teil der STEOP.

2020W, SE, 3.0h, 3.0EC, wird geblockt abgehalten

Merkmale

  • Semesterwochenstunden: 3.0
  • ECTS: 3.0
  • Typ: SE Seminar
  • Format der Abhaltung: Hybrid

Lernergebnisse

Nach positiver Absolvierung der Lehrveranstaltung sind Studierende in der Lage 3D Daten in Virtueller Realität sowie mit Hilfe von Augmented Reality zu visualisieren.

Die in Modul 1 erlernten Fähigkeiten ermöglichen den Teilnehmenden auch die freie Nutzung des Data Visualization Labs über den Rahmen der Lehrveranstaltung hinaus.

Inhalt der Lehrveranstaltung

Dieses Seminar richtet sich an Studierende aller Fakultäten und Studienrichtungen, die erlernen möchten, wie sie ihre Forschungsergebnisse, Entwürfe, Analysen und Simulationen auf dem Desktop, aber auch in Augmented und Virtual Reality visualisieren können. Ein weiteres wesentliches Ziel des Seminars ist es, die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zu fördern und den wissenschaftlichen Austausch über die eigenen disziplinären Grenzen hinaus zu unterstützen. Das Seminar wird in Deutscher Sprache angeboten, Betreuung kann aber bei Bedarf auch in Englisch angeboten werden.
Das erlernte Wissen soll den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern idealerweise als Ergänzung und Unterstützung für andere Lehrveranstaltungen, Seminar- und Masterarbeiten oder Dissertationen dienen. Dies ist jedoch nicht Voraussetzung zum Besuch der Lehrveranstaltung.
Die Lehrveranstaltung dient außerdem auch als Ergänzung zum "Smart Campus" Projekt.

Modul 1, Einführung:
In einer Einführung wird ein Überblick über Visualisierungstechnologien und wissenschaftliche Visualisierung sowie ihre Anwendungen in der Praxis gegeben. Im Data Visualization Lab der TU Bibliothek können die Möglichkeiten wissenschaftlicher Visualisierungen in virtueller Realität praktisch erfahren werden. Dies können je nach Interesse und fachlichen Hintergründen der Teilnehmenden Daten aus den Disziplinen des Maschinenbaus, Bauingenieurwesens, der Architektur, Raumplanung, Geodäsie und Geoinformation, Verfahrenstechnik, Chemie, Physik, Medizin, Biologie und anderen Themengebieten sein.

Modul 2, Grundlagen der wissenschaftliche Visualisierung in VR/AR:
Im Rahmen einer praktischen Einführung können die Teilnehmenden die Grundlagen für 3D-Desktop-Visualisierung mit COVISE erlernen. Außerdem soll in Form eines Workshops diskutiert werden, wie interaktive 3D-Modelle für virtuelle Umgebungen anschaulich erstellt und wie Augmented Reality Visualisierungen umgesetzt werden können.
Ziel dieses Moduls ist es, dass die Teilnehmenden selbst Visualisierungen erstellen und auf Endgeräten darstellen können (Monitor, Head Mounted Display (HMD), Virtual Reality etc.). Diese Kenntnisse sollen in eigenen Forschungs- und Studienarbeiten angewandt werden.

Modul 3, Bring your own data:
Das letzte Modul beschäftigt sich mit der Visualisierung der von den Teilnehmenden selbst erstellten Modellen, Analysen und Simulationen im Rahmen ihrer Forschungs- und Studienarbeiten. Im Data Visualization Lab werden diese präsentiert und in weiterer Folge im Rahmen eines Workshops optimiert sowie weitere Varianten aufgezeigt.

Methoden

Wissenschaftliche Visualisierung / Virtuelle und erweiterte Realität (VR und AR) am Data Visualisation Lab der TU Bibliothek

Prüfungsmodus

Schriftlich und Mündlich

Weitere Informationen

Weitere Termine für Blocklehrveranstaltungen im Dezember (Modul 2) und Jänner (Modul 3) werden so bald wie möglich bekanntgegeben. 


Beachten Sie beim Verfassen der Ausarbeitung bitte die Richtlinie der TU Wien zum Umgang mit Plagiaten: Leitfaden zum Umgang mit Plagiaten (PDF)

Vortragende Personen

Institut

LVA Termine

TagZeitDatumOrtBeschreibung
Mi.09:00 - 17:0021.10.2020 TU Bibliothek, Vortragsraum, Resselgasse 4, 5. OGModul 1: Einführung / Tag 1
Do.09:00 - 17:0022.10.2020 TU Bibliothek, Vortragsraum, Resselgasse 4, 5. OGModul 1: Einführung / Tag 2
Mi.09:00 - 18:0009.12.2020 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (EG)Modul 2 (Zusatztermin): Grundlagen der wissenschaftlichen Visualisierung in VR/AR
Do.09:00 - 18:0010.12.2020 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (EG)Modul 2: Grundlagen der wissenschaftlichen Visualisierung in VR/AR
Mi.09:00 - 17:0013.01.2021 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (EG)Modul 3, Tag1: Bring your own data
Do.09:00 - 17:0014.01.2021 TU Bibliothek, Data Visualisation Lab (EG)Modul 3, Tag 2: Bring your own data
LVA wird geblockt abgehalten

Leistungsnachweis

Die Studierenden müssen an allen drei Modulen teilnehmen und im Rahmen von Modul 3 eine Seminararbeit anfertigen. Die Arbeit wird im Data Visualization Lab interaktiv präsentiert, bewertet und dient somit als Leistungsnachweis. 

LVA-Anmeldung

Von Bis Abmeldung bis
14.09.2020 00:00 20.10.2020 00:00 20.10.2020 00:00

Anmeldemodalitäten

Die Module werden in "Anwesenheitslehre" durchgeführt. Sollte es aus gesundheitsrechlichen Gründen erforderlich sein, werden einzelne Module im Online-Format abgehalten. In diesem Fall werden Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer rechtzeitig informiert. 

Curricula

StudienkennzahlSemesterAnm.Bed.Info
066 490 Technische Chemie
TRS Transferable Skills

Literatur

Es wird kein Skriptum zur Lehrveranstaltung angeboten.

Vorkenntnisse

Vorkenntnisse in Visualisierung sind nicht zwangsläufig erforderlich, jedoch ist Erfahrung mit fachspezifischer Software sinnvoll. 

Weitere Informationen

  • Anwesenheitspflicht!

Sprache

bei Bedarf in Englisch